Faculty and Staff Directory

Leadership

Name Title Phone Email Office
Donald R. Peterson, Ph.D., M.S., FAIMBE Dean 815-753-2256 drpeterson@niu.edu EB 321B
Abul K. M. Azad, Ph.D. Associate Dean 815-753-6950 aazad@niu.edu EB 331B
Mansour Tahernezhadi, Ph.D. Senior Associate Dean and Professor 815-753-1279 mtaherne@niu.edu EB 321E

Dean's Office

Name Title Phone Email Office
Donald R. Peterson, Ph.D., M.S., FAIMBE Dean 815-753-2256 drpeterson@niu.edu EB 321B
Cheryl Gardner Business Manager 815-753-1228 clubbers1@niu.edu EB 312
Greg Kleinprinz Lab Mechanic 815-753-5079 gkleinprinz@niu.edu EB 278
Sandy Manisco Director of Marketing and Communications 815-752-8211 smanisco@niu.edu EB 308
Josh Muller Director of Major Gifts 815-753-1910 jmuller1@niu.edu EB 346
Jeremy Peters Lab Mechanic 815-753-5078 jpeters@niu.edu EB 278
Jeannie Peterson Office Support Specialist 815-753-9976 jpeterson17@niu.edu EB 226
Mike Reynolds Lab Manager 815-753-2278 mreynolds@niu.edu EB 252
Trevor Rogneby Office Support Specialist 815-753-1349 trogneby@niu.edu SG 203

Computer Operations Team

Name Title Phone Email Office
Mei Chen Computer Systems Manager 815-753-9978
mchen@niu.edu EB 110
Rana Sanyal IT Support Associate 815-753-1267 rsanyal2@niu.edu EB 114
Curt Steele Technical Services Coordinator 815-753-0747 csteele@niu.edu EB 112

Office of the Associate Dean - Undergraduate Academic Affairs, Outreach and Diversity

Name Title Phone Email Office
Abul K. M. Azad, Ph.D. Associate Dean 815-753-6950 aazad@niu.edu EB 331B
Carolyn Canon Office Manager 815-753-8024 mcanon@niu.edu EB 138
Stephen Samuels Coordinator, Recruitment and Retention 815-753-9961 ssamuels@niu.edu EB 304
Gary Smith Director, Outreach and Diversity 815-753-1690 gsmith8@niu.edu EB 306

Office of the Associate Dean - Research and Graduate Programs

Name Title Phone Email Office
Mansour Tahernezhadi, Ph.D. Senior Associate Dean and Professor 815-753-1279 mtaherne@niu.edu EB 321E
Qiang Mei Development Specialist, Office of Sponsored Projects 815-753-6911 qmei@niu.edu EB 108

Central Advising Office

Name Title Phone Email Office
Carolyn Canon Office Manager 815-753-8024 mcanon@niu.edu EB 138
Laura Lagreid Academic Advisor (last names H-P) 815-753-8071 llagreid@niu.edu EB 138
Rachel Lower Academic Advisor (last names Q-Z) 815-753-2905 rlower@niu.edu EB 140
Mark Pietrowski Director/Advisor for CEET undecided students 815-753-2903 pietrowski@niu.edu EB 126
Erica McFarland Academic Advisor (last names A-G) 815-753-3130 emcfarland@niu.edu EB 136

Electrical Engineering

Name Title Phone Email Office
Mansoor Alam, Ph.D. Professor and Chair 815-753-8010 malam1@niu.edu EB 332
Ibrahim M. Abdel-Motaleb, Ph.D., P.E. Professor 815-753-8570 ibrahim@niu.edu EB 200
Stanislav S. Baturin, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-4072 sbaturin@niu.edu EB 338
Veysel Demir, Ph.D. Associate Professor 815-753-8039 vdemir@niu.edu EB 352
Hasan Ferdowsi, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-3963 hferdowsi@niu.edu EB 348
Benedito Fonseca, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-0557 bfonseca@niu.edu EB 344
Venumadhav Korampally, Ph.D. Associate Professor 815-753-9247 vkorampally@niu.edu EB 340
Lichuan Liu, Ph.D. Professor 815-753-9937 liu@niu.edu EB 342
Edward Miguel Instructor 815-753-9940 emiguel1@niu.edu EB 337
Mohammad Moghimi, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-4201 moghimi@niu.edu EB 346
Mansour Tahernezhadi, Ph.D. Senior Associate Dean and Professor 815-753-1279 mtaherne@niu.edu EB 321E
Donald S. Zinger, Ph.D. Professor 815-753-0540 dzinger@niu.edu EB 336

Engineering Technology

Name Title Phone Email Office
Abul K. M. Azad, Ph.D. Associate Dean and Professor 815-753-6950 aazad@niu.edu EB 331B
Liping Guo, Ph.D. Professor 815-753-1350 lguo@niu.edu SH 203C
Theodore J. Hogan, Ph.D., CIH Associate Professor 815-753-9912 thogan2@niu.edu SG 211C
Rao Kilaparti, Ph.D. Interim Chair of Department of Engineering Technology and Associate Professor 815-753-9932 skilaparti@niu.edu SG 301C
Kevin B. Martin, Ph.D. Associate Professor 815-753-1345 kbmartin@niu.edu SH 101
Jonathon Merritt Instructor 815-753-5004 jmerritt@niu.edu SH 203E
William J. Mills, Ph.D., CIH Associate Professor 815-753-5366 wmills11@niu.edu SG 211C
Shanthi Muthuswamy, Ph.D. Associate Professor 815-753-4155 smuthuswamy@niu.edu SH 206
Said Oucheriah, Ph.D. Professor 815-753-1356 soucheria@niu.edu SH 203B
Alice Pileski Office Manager 815-753-9928 apileski@niu.edu SG 203
Charles Ruetsche Instructor 815-753-5363 cruetsche@niu.edu SH B05C
Shun Takai, Ph.D. Associate Professor 815-753-0185 stakai@niu.edu SG 300
Robert A. Tatara, Ph.D. Professor 815-753-1130 rtatara@niu.edu SG 212
Mahdi Vaezi, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-9941 mvaezi@niu.edu SH 103B

Industrial and Systems Engineering

Name Title Phone Email Office
Ehsan Asoudegi, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-9973 easoudegi@niu.edu EB 238
Shi-Jie (Gary) Chen, Ph.D. Professor 815-753-1221 garychen@niu.edu EB 234
Purushothaman (Purush) Damodaran, Ph.D. Professor and Chair 815-753-5660 pdamodaran@niu.edu EB 230A
Omar A. Ghrayeb, Ph.D. Professor 815-753-6922 oghrayeb@niu.edu EB 321B
Jaejin Hwang, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-9980 jhwang3@niu.edu EB 242
Tracy Mereness Office Support Specialist 815-753-1282 tmereness@niu.edu EB 230
Reinaldo J. Moraga, Ph.D. Associate Professor 815-753-8048 rmoraga@niu.edu EB 232
Christine Nguyen, Ph.D. Associate Professor 815-753-6748 cnguyen@niu.edu EB 236
Ziteng Wang, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-9971 zwang3@niu.edu EB 240
Niechen Chen, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-7144 nchen@niu.edu EB 250

Mechanical Engineering

Name Title Phone Email Office
Sachit Butail, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-9987 sbutail@niu.edu EB 148
Kyu Taek Cho, Ph.D. Associate Professor 815-753-3346 kcho@niu.edu EB 202
Brianno D. Coller, Ph.D. Professor and Undergraduate Director 815-753-9944 bcoller@niu.edu EB 214
Jenn-Terng Gau, Ph.D. Professor and Graduate Director 815-753-1261 jgau@niu.edu EB 218
Beatrice Kooken Office Manager 815-753-9979 bkooken1@niu.edu EB 226
Yueh-Jaw (YJ) Lin, Ph.D. Professor and Director of Mechatronics Engineering 815-753-9970 ylin1@niu.edu EB 318
Donald R. Peterson, Ph.D., M.S., FAIMBE Dean and Professor 815-753-2256 drpeterson@niu.edu EB 321B
Nicholas A. Pohlman, Ph.D. Associate Professor 815-753-9913 npohlman@niu.edu EB 216
Ji-Chul Ryu, Ph.D. Associate Professor 815-753-9035 jryu@niu.edu EB 210
Iman Salehinia, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-9965 isalehinia@niu.edu EB 212
Tariq Shamim, Ph.D. Professor and Department Chair 815-753-9964 tshamim@niu.edu EB 226A
John Shelton, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-9963 jshelton4@niu.edu EB 204
Bobby Sinko, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-9975 rsinko@niu.edu EB 208
Jifu Tan, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-7250 jifutan@niu.edu EB 116
Sahar Vahabzadeh, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-9379 svahabzadeh@niu.edu EB 120
Ting Xia, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-1298 txia@niu.edu EB 314