Industrial and Systems Engineering

The department of Industrial and Systems Engineering remains open virtually but is not accepting in-person visits at this time. Please contact Interim Chair Gary Chen, garychen@niu.edu or Tracy Mereness, tmereness@niu.edu to arrange for a phone meeting or for a virtual meeting. Please allow 24-hours for us to respond to your inquiries. Thanks for your understanding.

A degree in industrial and systems engineering leads to careers in a wide range of commercial, retail and service industries. Our program's integrated approach will help you understand the complete life cycle of a product or service, from design to delivery. You'll gain the skills to improve productivity, save money and optimize resources in manufacturing, health care, entertainment, transportation and other areas.

As you learn how to make businesses operate more efficiently, you'll benefit from:

  • Hands-on experience: Most students have at least one internship with a local business.
  • Career preparation: Almost all students are employed within a year of graduation, many receive job offers before they graduate.
  • Experienced faculty who specialize in a range of industries.

Huskie Spotlight

Mahdi Vaezi

Christine Nguyen

Associate Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering

Research

See what research is taking place in Industrial and Systems Engineering and which projects are accepting students.

Laboratories

Learn more about our amazing facilities.

Faculty and Staff

Name Title Phone Email Office
Ehsan Asoudegi, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-9973 easoudegi@niu.edu EB 238
Niechen Chen, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-7144 nchen@niu.edu EB 250
Shi-Jie (Gary) Chen, Ph.D. Interim Chair and Professor 815-753-1221 garychen@niu.edu EB 234
Purushothaman (Purush) Damodaran, Ph.D. Professor 815-753-5660 pdamodaran@niu.edu EB 230A
Omar A. Ghrayeb, Ph.D. Professor 815-753-6922 oghrayeb@niu.edu EB 321B
Jaejin Hwang, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-9980 jhwang3@niu.edu EB 242
Tracy Mereness Office Support Specialist 815-753-1282 tmereness@niu.edu EB 230
Reinaldo J. Moraga, Ph.D. Associate Professor 815-753-8048 rmoraga@niu.edu EB 232
Christine Nguyen, Ph.D. Associate Professor 815-753-6748 cnguyen@niu.edu EB 236
Ziteng Wang, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-9971 zwang3@niu.edu EB 240
Back to top