Engineering Technology

Today's rapidly changing world requires professionals familiar with the equipment and applications used in technological fields. Our engineering technology program will expand your understanding of applied engineering and the intersection of science, math and computer programming. You'll also gain experience with welding, CNC machining, 3D printing and other techniques.

Thanks to our partnerships with government and industry, you'll have opportunities to apply what you learn in the real world, which will prepare you for a successful career. Regional employers trust our program, and almost all graduates are employed within a year of graduation.

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Update

We're still here for you! The department of Engineering Technology remains open virtually but is not accepting in-person visits at this time. Please call the office at 815-753-1349 or email technology@niu.edu to arrange for a phone meeting or a virtual meeting.

Research

See what research is taking place in Engineering Technology and which projects are accepting students.

Laboratories

Learn more about our amazing facilities.

We all stick together and the professors all stick with the students. They act like they care. I want to work with a product from start to finish; design, manufacturing and selling the product.

I'm going to get involved as an alumna. I want to be a part of what has helped me succeed and tell other students about it.

Parrys Jones, B.S. '17, Manufacturing Engineering Technology

Faculty and Staff

Name Title Phone Email Office
Abul K. M. Azad, Ph.D. Associate Dean and Professor 815-753-6950 aazad@niu.edu EB 331B
Liping Guo, Ph.D. Professor 815-753-1350 lguo@niu.edu SH 203C
Theodore J. Hogan, Ph.D., CIH Associate Professor 815-753-9912 thogan2@niu.edu SG 211C
Rao Kilaparti, Ph.D. Interim Chair of Department of Engineering Technology and Associate Professor 815-753-9932 skilaparti@niu.edu SG 301C
Kevin B. Martin, Ph.D. Associate Professor 815-753-1345 kbmartin@niu.edu SH 101
Jonathon Merritt Instructor 815-753-5004 jmerritt@niu.edu SH 203E
William J. Mills, Ph.D., CIH Associate Professor 815-753-5366 wmills11@niu.edu SG 211C
Shanthi Muthuswamy, Ph.D. Associate Professor 815-753-4155 smuthuswamy@niu.edu SH 206
Said Oucheriah, Ph.D. Professor 815-753-1356 soucheria@niu.edu SH 203B
Alice Pileski Office Manager 815-753-9928 apileski@niu.edu SG 203
Trevor Rogneby Office Support Specialist 815-753-1349 trogneby@niu.edu SG 203
Charles Ruetsche Instructor 815-753-5363 cruetsche@niu.edu SH B05C
Shun Takai, Ph.D. Associate Professor 815-753-0185 stakai@niu.edu SG 300
Robert A. Tatara, Ph.D. Professor 815-753-1130 rtatara@niu.edu SG 212
Mahdi Vaezi, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-9941 mvaezi@niu.edu SH 103B