Mechanical Engineering

The Department of Mechanical Engineering is open on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday from 8 a.m.-12 p.m. and 1-4:30 p.m.

Otherwise, we are open virtually and can also be reached via telephone 815-753-9979. Please contact Beatrice Kooken at bkooken1@niu.edu to arrange for a phone meeting or a virtual meeting via Microsoft Teams. We will respond to your request as soon as we are able. Thank you for your understanding.

Mechanical engineering requires both creativity and analytical skills. Our program will give you an understanding of the systems and components used in manufacturing, energy conversion and solid/fluid mechanics. You'll learn how to design and manufacture devices and products that improve people's lives. The hands-on experience you gain will prepare you for a career in fields such as robotics, automotive technology and computer-aided design/manufacturing.

You'll benefit from:

  • Internship opportunities with regional industries.
  • Ability to participate in Robotics Club and other student organizations.
  • Research experience with the latest technologies.
  • Dedicated faculty with expertise in areas like swarm technology, biomechanics and robotics.

Research

See what research is taking place in Mechanical Engineering and which projects are accepting students.

Laboratories

Learn more about our amazing facilities.

Undergraduate Programs

Graduate Programs

Faculty and Staff

Name Title Phone Email Office
Sachit Butail, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-9987 sbutail@niu.edu EB 148
Kyu Taek Cho, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-3346 kcho@niu.edu EB 202
Brianno D. Coller, Ph.D. Professor and Undergraduate Director 815-753-9944 bcoller@niu.edu EB 214
Jenn-Terng Gau, Ph.D. Professor and Graduate Director 815-753-1261 jgau@niu.edu EB 218
Beatrice Kooken Office Manager 815-753-9979 bkooken1@niu.edu EB 226
Yueh-Jaw (YJ) Lin, Ph.D. Professor and Director of Mechatronics Engineering 815-753-9970 ylin1@niu.edu EB 318
Donald R. Peterson, Ph.D., M.S., FAIMBE Dean and Professor 815-753-2256 drpeterson@niu.edu EB 321B
Jeannie Peterson Office Support Specialist 815-753-9976 jpeterson17@niu.edu EB 226
Nicholas A. Pohlman, Ph.D. Associate Professor 815-753-9913 npohlman@niu.edu EB 216
Ji-Chul Ryu, Ph.D. Associate Professor 815-753-9035 jryu@niu.edu EB 210
Iman Salehinia, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-9965 isalehinia@niu.edu EB 212
Tariq Shamim, Ph.D. Professor and Department Chair 815-753-9964 tshamim@niu.edu EB 226A
John Shelton, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-9963 jshelton4@niu.edu EB 204
Bobby Sinko, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-9975 rsinko@niu.edu EB 208
Jifu Tan, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-7250 jifutan@niu.edu EB 116
Sahar Vahabzadeh, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-9379 svahabzadeh@niu.edu EB 120
Ting Xia, Ph.D. Assistant Professor 815-753-1298 txia@niu.edu EB 314