Award Ceremony
Sunday, Apr. 14, 2019 at 11 a.m. 

The Presidential Commission on the Status of Women (PCSW), in cooperation with the Office of the President, recognizes the achievements of outstanding women students, faculty and staff on an annual basis.

Annual Awards

Outstanding Women Student

Recognizes students whose leadership may be less formal in nature, who entertain non-traditional aspirations, have overcome significant obstacles in the process of pursuing their education or whose achievements and contributions might otherwise go unrecognized.

Sharon Howard: Women Who Make a Difference

Acknowledges outstanding dedication to the empowerment of NIU women by making important contributions to addressing issues that are important to women and going the "extra mile" to assist others.

Wilma D. Stricklin

Awarded to an NIU affiliated individual who has demonstrated exemplary leadership/service resulting in a more favorable campus climate for women, provided continual leadership/service over an extended period of time and expended efforts beyond expectations and work responsibilities.

Outstanding Mentor

Recognizes individuals (of any gender) who have shown exceptional commitment to advancing the career and/or educational goals of NIU women students, staff and/or faculty. This person is someone who consistently acts as an exemplary teacher, coach, advisor, facilitator, resource and creates opportunities that help protégés achieve their goals.