Membership

The Presidential Commission on Race and Ethnicity shall be composed of 16 members, most of whom shall be members of Northern Illinois University's racial and ethnic groups. Membership shall be made up of four members of the full-time teaching faculty, four supportive professional staff, four operating staff, and four students are nominated by the Student Government Association or self-nomination.

A representative of the ombudsperson's office and the Office of Academic Diversity, Equity and Inclusion shall be ex officio, nonvoting members of the commission. One member shall be selected by the commission members to be the liaison representative to Affirmative Action, Equal Opportunity and Education.

Officers

Felicia Bohanon, chair
fbohanon@niu.edu

Simón Weffer-Elizondo, vice chair
sweffer@niu.edu

Tawanda Gipson, secretary
tgipson1@niu.edu

Current Members

Monique Bernoudy
mbernoudy@niu.edu

Shondra Clay
sclay@niu.edu

Joseph Flynn
jeflynn@niu.edu

Natasha Johnson
njohnson11@niu.edu

Sarah Klaper
sklaper@niu.edu

Khalfani Mar ‘Na 
kmarna1@niu.edu

Alex Pitner
apitner1@niu.edu

Alan Smith
aesmith@niu.edu

Donald Williams
dwilliams15@niu.edu