The Presidential Commission on Race and Ethnicity shall be composed of 16 members, most of whom shall be members of Northern Illinois University's racial and ethnic groups. Membership shall be made up of four members of the full-time teaching faculty, four supportive professional staff, four operating staff, and four students are nominated by the Student Government Association or self-nomination.

A representative of the ombudsperson's office and the Office of Academic Diversity, Equity and Inclusion shall be ex officio, nonvoting members of the commission. One member shall be selected by the commission members to be the liaison representative to Affirmative Action, Equal Opportunity and Education.


Felicia Bohanon, chair

Simón Weffer-Elizondo, vice chair

Tawanda Paul, secretary

Current Members

Monique Bernoudy

Shondra Clay

Joseph Flynn

Natasha Johnson

Sarah Klaper

Khalfani Mar ‘Na

Alex Pitner

Alan Smith

Donald Williams