Presidential Commission Awards

Each year the Presidential Commissions recognize faculty, staff, students and community members who have helped make our campus a welcoming, diverse and inclusive place to live, learn and work. Nominations for these awards open on Feb. 1 and are due by March 1.

Learn more about each commission’s awards and complete the nominations forms to recognize deserving individuals by visiting the links below.

Presidential Commission on Race and Ethnicity (PCORE)

The Presidential Commission on Race and Ethnicity (PCORE), previously known as the Presidential Commission on the Status of Minorities, invites current students, faculty, SPS and civil service staff, academic units, offices, programs and organizations to nominate an outstanding student, faculty or staff member, or organization at Northern Illinois University for the McKinley “Deacon” Davis Diversity Award.

This award recognizes significant contributions made to the improvement in the status and conditions for racial and ethnic groups on NIU’s campus. The PCORE will give four awards this year, with one award specifically designated for a student. The award recipients will be honored at the PCORE diversity summit in April. Learn more or nominate someone for the Deacon Davis Diversity Award.

Presidential Commission on the Status of Women (PCSW)

PCSW offers four awards that recognize students, faculty, staff and community members who advocate for women's issues, promote gender equity, empower others, continually lead and act as mentors. Learn more about these awards and provide your nominations by visiting the links below.

Presidential Commission on Persons with Disabilities (PCPD)

PCPD offers four awards in recognition of individuals who provide outstanding service, leadership and advocacy to persons with disabilities. View the PCPD award descriptions and nomination form for more information.

  • Exemplary Advocate Award for Faculty/Staff
  • Exemplary Advocate Award for Community Partner
  • Gregory Long, Ph.D., Award for Excellence in Service and Leadership
  • Together Forward Award

Presidential Commission on Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity (PCSOGI)

PCSOGI, in partnership with the Gender and Sexuality Resource Center, presents the Eychaner Award to individuals affiliated with NIU who have made outstanding contributions that enhance the lives of people who are lesbian, gay, bisexual and/or transgender (LGBTQ+). Learn more about and nominate someone for the Eychaner Award.

Contact Dr. Freeman

Office of the President
Altgeld Hall 300
Back to top