Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award

The Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award honors excellent undergraduate teaching in the university, specifically among the tenure-track and tenured faculty. Recipients of the EUTA will be among the most outstanding teachers on campus. Undergraduate students will play a significant role in nominating faculty for this award.

2019 Award Winners

kate cady

Kate Cady

Department of Communication

myoungwhon jung

Myoung Jung

Department of Special and Early Education

Tim Ryan

Tim Ryan

Department of English

Eligibility for Nomination 

  • An NIU employee with regular teaching responsibilities who is a tenured or tenure-track faculty member.
  • Completion of a minimum of five full academic years at NIU.
  • Over the last three years, has taught a minimum of six (6) evaluated course sections at the undergraduate level.
  • Has not previously received the award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.
  • Is currently not a member of the Committee for the Improvement of Undergraduate Academic Experience.
  • Eligibility for nomination is not based on race, sex, age, or other distinction but solely on superiority in teaching.

Required Materials

Incomplete applications will not be considered.

  • Cover page with signatures
  • Procedures followed at the department and college levels (Boxes 1-2)
  • Responses to five prompts regarding the nominee’s accomplishments (Boxes 3-7)
  • Letters of recommendation (signed – see instructions; up to 7)
  • Curriculum vitae (optional; to be used only to verify facts presented elsewhere)
  • Entire nomination assembled into a single PDF document

Compete nomination emailed to CIUAE in care of the Provost's office provost@niu.edu.