2023 Presidential Teaching Professors

Congratulations to Omar Chmaissem and Donna Werderich, our 2023 Presidential Teaching Professorships recipients! The NIU Presidential Teaching Professorships were established in 1991 to recognize and support faculty who excel in the practice of teaching.

Recipients of this award have demonstrated their commitment to and success in the many activities associated with outstanding teaching. The recipients receive budgetary support and release time for the enhancement of their teaching skills.

After four years as a Presidential Teaching Professor, each of these eminent faculty members is designated a Distinguished Teaching Professor.

Omar Chmaissem
Department of Physics

Donna Werderich
Department of Curriculum and Instruction

Contact Dr. Freeman

Office of the President
Altgeld Hall 300
Back to top