Faculty and Staff Directory

NIU Law boasts an experienced, student-centered faculty dedicated to the development of tomorrow’s lawyers. Educated at some of the nation’s most prestigious law schools, this diverse group brings a broad range of professional experience to the classroom. The NIU Law faculty is committed to not just teaching the law but teaching the law with an emphasis on public service.

To quickly navigate to your category of interest, please select from the options below:


Search below for faculty, staff or unit name:

Dean's Office

Name Title Email Phone Office
Mark W. Cordes Interim Dean and Professor of Law mcordes@niu.edu 815-753-0380 270
Tita Kaus Administrator tkaus@niu.edu 815-753-1068 270
Marc D. Falkoff Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor of Law mfalkoff@niu.edu 815-753-0660 199C
LeAnn Baie Office Support Specialist for Faculty and Associate Dean lbaie@niu.edu 815-753-0618 190
Greg C. Anderson Assistant Dean and Director of Career Opportunities and Professional Development ganderson@niu.edu 815-753-9604 280A1
Michael S. Burns Assistant Dean and Director of Admissions mburns4@niu.edu 815-753-8595 280
Kathleen L. Coles Associate Dean for Student Affairs and Associate Professor of Law kcoles@niu.edu 815-753-0668 276A
Yolanda M. King Interim Assistant Dean for Student Affairs and Associate Professor of Law yking@niu.edu 815-753-7231 196A
Lisa A. Hoebing Support Specialist for Associate Dean for Student Affairs lhoebing@niu.edu 815-753-9488 276

[back to top]


Faculty

Name Title Email Phone Office
Carliss Chatman Assistant Professor of Law cchatman@niu.edu 815-753-0240 198D
Kathleen L. Coles Associate Dean for Student Affairs and Associate Professor of Law kcoles@niu.edu 815-753-0668 276A
Mark W. Cordes Interim Dean and Professor of Law mcordes@niu.edu 815-753-0380 270
Marc D. Falkoff Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor of Law mfalkoff@niu.edu 815-753-0660 199C
Sarah Fox Assistant Professor of Law sarah.fox@niu.edu 815-753-0285 198B
David B. Gaebler Professor Emeritus dgaebler@niu.edu 815-753-1060 195B
Robert Jones Associate Professor of Law rljones@niu.edu 815-753-1460 198C
Yolanda M. King Interim Assistant Dean for Student Affairs and Associate Professor of Law yking@niu.edu 815-753-7231 196A
Heidi Frostestad Kuehl Director of the Law Library and Associate Professor of Law hkuehl@niu.edu 815-753-9493 267D
Anita Maddali Director of Clinics and Associate Professor of Law amaddali@niu.edu 815-753-0207 197A
Daniel S. McConkie, Jr. Associate Professor of Law mcconkie@niu.edu 815-753-1560 197B
Michael M. Oswalt Associate Professor of Law moswalt@niu.edu 815-753-2066 192C
Jeffrey A. Parness Professor Emeritus jparness@niu.edu 815-753-0340 172E
Laurel A. Rigertas Associate Professor of Law lrigertas@niu.edu 815- 753-1680 199B
Maybell Romero Assistant Professor of Law mromero@niu.edu 815-753-7251 197D
David Rosenfeld Associate Professor of Law drosenfeld@niu.edu 815-753-9489 194A
Morse Tan Professor of Law mtan1@niu.edu 815-753-1095 198B
David H. Taylor Distinguished Teaching Professor dtaylor@niu.edu 815-753-0560 192A
Genevieve A. Tokić Associate Professor of Law gtokic@niu.edu 815-753-9022 198C
John A. Walton Professor Emeritus jwalton@niu.edu 815-753-0120 194B
Amy Widman Associate Professor of Law awidman@niu.edu 815-753-1331 197D

[back to top]

Clinical Faculty

Name Title Email Phone Office
Colleen Boraca Clinical Assistant Professor cboraca@niu.edu 630-229-0752
Paul J. Cain Interim Director of Clinics and Clinical Professor pcain@niu.edu 815-962-9980
Wendy Hinton Vaughn Clinical Associate Professor wvaughn@niu.edu 815-962-9980

[back to top]

Law Library Faculty and Staff

Circulation desk: 815-753-0507
Reference desk:815-753-0519
Fax: 815-753-9499

Name Title Email Phone Office
Heidi Frostestad Kuehl Director of the Law Library and Associate Professor of Law hkuehl@niu.edu 815-753-9493 267D
Therese A. Clarke Arado Deputy Director of the Law Library and Professor tclarke@niu.edu 815-753-9497 290B
Sharon L. Nelson Emerging Technologies and Systems Administrator and Associate Professor slnelson@niu.edu 815-753-2021 267A
Clanitra Stewart Nejdl Reference and Instructional Services Librarian and Assistant Professor cstewart5@niu.edu 815-753-9487 267B
Matthew Timko Academic Technologies and Outreach Services Librarian and Assistant Professor mtimko@niu.edu 815-753-9492 269A1
Kate Hartman Library Specialist, Technical Services khartman4@niu.edu 815-753-9184
Cheryl Korth Office Support Specialist ckorth@niu.edu 815-753-0505
Pamela Sampson Circulation Manager psampson@niu.edu 815-753-9491

[back to top]

Legal Writing and Academic Success Program Faculty

Name Title Email Phone Office
Jeanna L. Hunter Director of Academic Success Program jeannah@niu.edu 815-753-9481 181
Meredith Stange Director of Legal Writing Program mstange@niu.edu 815-753-1958 179
Sandra E. Kupelian Legal Writing Instructor skupelian@niu.edu 815-753-0140 175A
Jay Streitz Legal Writing Instructor jstreitz@niu.edu 815-753-0280 175B

[back to top]

Visiting Faculty

Name Title Email Phone Office
Daniel J. Cain Visiting Practitioner-in-Residence dcain1@niu.edu
Jack O'Malley Visiting Professor of Law justiceomalley@aol.com 815-753-8558 198A

[back to top]

Adjunct Faculty

Name Title Email Phone Office
Greg C. Anderson Assistant Dean and Director of Career Opportunities and Professional Development ganderson@niu.edu 815-753-9604 280A1
Hon. Fernando L. Engelsma Adjunct Professor and Associate Judge, 17th Judicial Circuit of Illinois
Barbara Huffman Adjunct Professor
Markham Jeep Adjunct Professor
Patrick Kinnally Adjunct Professor
Jeffrey Lewis Adjunct Professor
Kerry O'Brien Adjunct Professor
Susan A. Porterfield Adjunct Legal Writing Instructor sporterfield@niu.edu
Debra D. Schafer Adjunct Professor

[back to top]


Admissions and Financial Aid

Fax: 815-753-5680

Name Title Email Phone Office
General Admissions Contact Information law-admit@niu.edu 815-753-8595 151
Talk and Tour law-admit@niu.edu 815-753-8595 151
Michael S. Burns Assistant Dean and Director of Admissions mburns4@niu.edu 815-753-8595 280
Kellie Martial Associate Director of Admissions kmartial@niu.edu 815-753-8595 151
Alex Chapman Admissions Record Specialist achapman1@niu.edu 815-753-8595 151

[back to top]


Advancement

Name Title Email Phone Office
Michelle Japlon Associate Director of Advancement mjaplon@niu.edu 815-753-9486 350

[back to top]


Alumni Events, Public Relations, Website and Social Media

Fax: 815-753-4501

Name Title Email Phone Office
Melody Mitchell Director of Alumni Events and Public Relations mmitchell@niu.edu 815-753-9655 350

[back to top]


Budget and Records

Fax: 815-753-1615

Name Title Email Phone Office
Ann M. Apple Director of Budget and Records aapple@niu.edu 815-753-6580 280
Julie Mahoney-Krzyzek Office Manager jmahoney@niu.edu 815-753-1620 285

[back to top]


Career Opportunities and Professional Development

Fax: 815-753-8073

Name Title Email Phone Office
Public Interest Law Society

815-753-0589
815-753-4501 (fax)

280
Greg C. Anderson Assistant Dean and Director of Career Opportunities and Professional Development ganderson@niu.edu 815-753-9604 280A1
Rebecca A. Leneau Office Manager rleneau@niu.edu 815-753-0589 280

[back to top]


Information Technology Services

Fax: 815-753-8087

Name Title Email Phone Office
General IT Help

Classroom-related services: colit@niu.edu

Spam or suspicious email: abuse@niu.edu

Tech Support:
815-753-0860
Rahul Thatte Director of Information Technology rthatte@niu.edu 815-753-1784 356

[back to top]


Faculty Offices

Fax: 815-753-9301

Name Title Email Phone Office
LeAnn Baie Faculty Office Support Specialist lbaie@niu.edu 815-753-0618 190

[back to top]


Zeke Giorgi Legal Clinic - Rockford

401 W. State Street
Suite 600
Rockford, IL 61101
Fax: 815-962-9984

Name Title Email Phone Office
Paul J. Cain Director of Criminal Defense Clinic and Clinical Professor pcain@niu.edu 815-962-9980
Wendy Hinton Vaughn Director of Civil Justice Clinic and Clinical Associate Professor wvaughn@niu.edu 815-962-9980
Lucy Galpin Office Manager lgalpin@niu.edu 815-962-9980
Willa MacVenn Office Support Associate wmacvenn@niu.edu 815-962-9980

[back to top]


Student Organizations

Name Email Phone Office
Law Review lawreview@niu.edu 815-753-0619
Moot Court Society mootcourt@niu.edu 815-753-9483 172D
Student Bar Association 815-753-1663 172
SBA Organizations 815-753-9484 172

[back to top]