As the legislative body of the Student Government Association, the senate is integral to the university’s mission of shared governance as an advocate for the student body.

The senate officially reviews and verifies any executive branch actions and confirms any new appointments. Additionally, the senate is also responsible for formally recognizing new student organizations and approving the appropriations of funds for each SGA-recognized organization. The senate is ultimately responsible for the Student Government Association budget of over $6.5 million dollars, providing services such as the Huskie Bus Line, Campus Recreation Services, Student Legal Assistance, Campus Activities Board (CAB) and Event Production Services, among others.

The senate is comprised of up to 40 senators, separated into four districts and is responsible for the creation, drafting and passage of policies that deal directly with the NIU Constitution and Bylaws. Each senator serves on at least one standing committee and may also serve on an additional University Council committee, all assigned at the discretion of the speaker. During the year, senators also serve the campus and community through community service and even by lobbying in Springfield for policies that benefit higher education. Elections are held in the spring of every academic year and appointments are made when needed to fill vacant senate seats.

Every student deserves to have their voice heard and we will not hesitate to ensure that that right is upheld. Our office is always open to anyone. View agendas and minutes.

Speaker of the Senate

Brad Beyer

Meet the Senators

* denotes leadership position

District 1

Name Email Committee
*Kyle S. Jacobson Public Affairs, Campus Life and Greek Affairs
Carmorroa Siggers Campus Life and Greek Affairs
Derek Gawlik Campus Life and Greek Affairs
DeVonté Fuller University Services Oversight, Rules and Procedures
David Medrano N/A
James Holmes University Services Oversight, Public Affairs
Shantez Branch  Public Affairs

District 2

Name Email Committee
*Brianna T. Richardson University Services Oversight, Campus Life and Greek Affairs
Sabrina Self Environmental Affairs, Rules and Procedures
Ashley Hines Rules and Procedures, Finance
Masud Alam Public Affairs, Finance
Kaelyn Nannni Public Affairs, Environmental Affairs

District 3

Name Email Committee
*Cassandra Pilcher University Services Oversight
Gustavo Casas N/A
Meghan Trentz Campus Life and Greek Affairs, Rules and Procedures
Brenden Kaslewicz Campus Life and Greek Affairs, Finance
Miguel Quiroz II University Services Oversight, Public Affairs

District 4

Name Email Committee
*Micheal Kane Public Affairs, Finance
Ian Pearson Rules and Procedures, Finance

District 5

Name Email Committee
*Daniel Teboda Public Affairs, Environmental Affairs
Clayton Schopfer N/A
Jonathon Peters Finance