The Operating Staff Council (OSC) is now accepting candidates for the upcoming election. We are grateful for those willing to get involved in shared governance. We are filling six member and three alternate vacancies this year beginning July 1, 2019.

The deadline to submit candidacy declarations is April 5, 2019. Voting will take place online in mid-April. Good luck to all!

If you have any questions, please contact the elections and appointments committee chair, Jeffry Royce at jroyce@niu.edu.

Interest sheets to declare candidacy for OSC.

General Information

There are typically between four and six council vacancies each year. Each vacancy is for a three-year term. The three candidates with the most votes who did not get elected to a council seat will be offered an alternate seat for a one-year term.

In order to be eligible to run to fill a vacancy on the OSC, you must:

  • Be a union or nonunion employee in a status position (not a student or extra help).
  • Have your supervisor's approval.
  • Be willing to serve approximately five to six hours each month for monthly meetings and subcommittee participation.

No previous council or committee experience is necessary.

The council's role is to promote the general welfare of operating staff employees. It accomplishes this through action in a communicative and advisory capacity to the NIU administration and any other applicable group, agency or individual. It functions as a source of direction, information and two-way communication for the operating staff at NIU.

The council meets the first Thursday of each month, from 9 a.m. to approximately noon.

  • Candidate data sheets are typically collected in early spring for the election of members for the upcoming fiscal year.
  • The election and announcement of new members takes place in late spring.

If you have any questions, please contact the Elections/Appointments Committee chair, Jeffry Royce, at jroyce@niu.edu.

2018 Election Results

Re-elected Representatives

  • Stacey Bivens
  • Jay Monteiro
  • Karen Smith

Newly Elected Representatives

  • David Berg
  • Natasha Johnson
  • Renee Kerwin
  • Nancy Skelley
  • Debbie Williams


  • Rebekka Ayres
  • Rave Meyer
  • Jesse Tellez

Contact Us

Operating Staff Council
Altgeld Hall 103