2018-2019 Operating Staff Council Standing Committees

Representatives on all Operating Staff Council (OSC) committees should be status operating staff (civil service) employees. If you are interested in being on an OSC committee, please contact Jeffry Royce at or 815-753-1491.

Executive Committee

  • Holly Nicholson, chair (815-753-6692).
  • Jeffry Royce, vice president.
  • Stacey Bivens, secretary.
  • Patricia Wielert, treasurer.
  • Jay Monteiro, parliamentarian.
  • John Hulseberg, personnel advisor.

Elections/Appointments Committee

  • Jeffry Royce, chair (815-753-1491).
  • Stacey Bivens.
  • Karen Smith.
  • Patricia Wielert.

Legislative Committee

  • Katja Marjetic, chair (815-753-0528).
  • Dave Berg.
  • John Hulseberg.
  • Jay Monteiro.
  • Holly Nicholson.
  • Patricia Wielert.

Public Relations/Activities

  • Karen Smith, co-chair (815-753-9191).
  • Rebekka Ayres, co-chair (815-753-1794).
  • Ellen Cabrera.
  • Natasha Johnson.
  • Renee Kerwin.
  • Jay Monteiro.
  • Patricia Wielert.

Employee Morale

  • Karen Smith, co-chair (815-753-9191).
  • Debbie Williams, co-chair (815-753-0425).
  • Cindy Kozumplik.
  • Nancy Skelley.
  • Angie Gutierrez-Vargas.

Workplace Issues

  • Rave Meyer, chair (815-753-3371).
  • Natasha Johnson.
  • Renee Kerwin.
  • Katja Marjetic.
  • Jeffry Royce.
  • Jesse Tellez.

NIU Committees and Commissions

Operating staff have representatives on a variety of NIU committees and commissions. Detailed descriptions of university committees can be found on the University Council website. These representatives are appointed or nominated by the Operating Staff Council (OSC) based on interest forms submitted by operating staff employees.

As part of the shared governance system at NIU, the OSC has representatives on the University Council and University Advisory Council to the Board of Trustees.

At the state level, NIU operating staff have representatives on the State University Civil Service System Employee Advisory Committee (EAC) and State University Retirement System Member Advisory Committee (SURSMAC).

If you have any questions, contact Elections/Appointments Committee Chair Jeffry Royce at

Committee Interest Form