Alumni Council

The Northern Illinois University College of Law Alumni Council is comprised of alumni interested in maintaining a strong connection between the College of Law and its alumni. Members serve two-year terms. The council meets three times per year. Anyone interested in serving on the Alumni Council may contact Melody Mitchell, director of alumni events and public relations, at

Current Alumni Council Members

Lawrence A. Stein ’93, President
Lawrence A. Stein, LLC

Omar Salguero ’12, First Vice President
Attorney, Latino Immigration and Legal Center, PC
Aurora, IL

Jay Wiegman ’92, Second Vice President
Office of State Appellate Defender, Third District
Ottawa, IL

Rachel Hernandez Hoag ’05, Secretary
Hernandez Hoag Legal Solutions
Geneva, IL

Melinda Rosales-Byerly '03, Immediate Past President
Assistant Public Defender, Office of Cook County Public Defender
Rolling Meadows, IL

Nick Atwood ’16
Illinois Appellate Prosecutor's Office, 3rd District
Ottawa, IL

Brandon Ayers ’11
Attorney, Law ElderLaw
Aurora, IL

Katie Haskins Becker ’11
Haskins Becker, P.C.
Wheaton, IL.

Karen Blouin ‘06
Senior Attorney, U.S. Department of Energy
Lemont, IL

Nichole Cain ‘06
The Law Offices of Nichole T. Cain, LLC
Chicago, IL

Blake Cosentino ’03
Cosentino Law Firm
DeKalb, IL

Brent R. Eames ’09
Eames Law Group
Chicago, IL

Diane Elliott ‘05
Law Office of Diane E. Elliott
DeKalb, IL

Robert W. Fioretti ’78
Wolin and Rosen, Ltd.
Chicago, IL

Natalie Hammer ‘97
Judicial Law Clerk, Third District Illinois Appellate Court
Diamond, IL

Rene’ Hernandez ’90
Law Offices of Rene Hernandez, P.C.
Rockford, IL.

Christine Janis ‘16
Associate, Castlebrook Law
West Dundee, IL

Kenya Jenkins-Wright ’03
General Council, Illinois Guardianship and Advocacy Commission
Chicago, IL

Lisa Knauf ‘13
Knauf Law
Addison, IL

Andrew Lothson ’08
Partner, Swanson, Martin and Bell, LLP
Chicago, IL

Kellie Martial '10

Kellie Martial ‘10
Assistant Director Office of Admissions, NIU College of Law
DeKalb, IL

Kate G. McCabe ’01
Judicial Law Clerk, Illinois Appellate Court
Diamond, IL

Neil Michling ‘18
Asst. State’s Attorney, DeKalb County State’s Attorney
Sycamore, IL

William Obuchowski ‘13
Chicago, IL

Khristian Parker '10

Khristian Parker ’10
General Counsel, Teamsters Local Union No. 705
Chicago, IL

Margie Komes Putzler ‘15
Attorney, Turner Law Offices
Sycamore, IL

Nick Valadez ’89
Law Offices of Nick Valadez
Oak Forest, IL

Heather Wier Vaught ‘05
Chief Legal Counsel to Illinois Speaker of the House
Springfield, IL

Karen Wilkerson ’97
Supervisory Regional Counsel, Department of Children and Family Services
Woodstock, IL

Victor Zamora ‘19
Reno & Zahm LLP
Rockford, IL