Outstanding Student Contribution to International Education

The Outstanding Student Contribution to International Education Award acknowledges and recognizes the outstanding student contributions to international education at NIU. The awards are meant to encourage students to participate in and create greater visibility to international education at NIU.

The award will be presented to the selected NIU unit on Tuesday, Nov. 14, 2023, from 11:30 a.m.-1 p.m. during the International Recognition Presentation at the Holmes Student Center Sky room.

If you have any questions, please contact Lauren Mock at 815-753-0420 or lmock1@niu.edu.


In order to be eligible for the award, a nominee must be:

Regular undergraduate and graduate students in good academic standing and enrolled at NIU during the semester the award nominations are due are eligible for the award.

Two awards will be given:

  • one to a non-immigrant student (non-US citizen or non-permanent resident)
  • one to a domestic student (U.S. citizen or permanent resident).


  • Any current faculty, staff, or student at NIU can submit nominations for the award.
  • Students can nominate themselves.
  • Student workers and graduate assistants in the Division of International Affairs may not self-nominate but may be nominated by faculty or staff outside of the Division of International Affairs.
  • Nominees must not have previously received this award.


  • Completed nomination form
  • Completed activities list
  • One-page essay (self-nomination) or one-page letter of support (faculty or staff nominator)

Nomination Form


Please email the completed nomination packet by Tuesday, Oct. 31, 2023, to lmock1@niu.edu with "Outstanding Student Contribution to International Education Awards Committee" in the subject line.

Selection Procedure

An awards committee established by the Division of International Affairs will review the nominations and select award recipients. The committee may request additional information or clarifications from the nominees or nominators.

Past Award Recipients

Year Domestic Student International Student
2023 Galilea Santana Rothsethamony Seng
2022 not awarded Harold Nii-Aponsah
2021 not awarded not awarded
2020 Anna Wojciechowski not awarded
2019 Matthew Werstler not awarded
2018 Michael Yurkiv I Younan An
2017 not awarded Oleg Grachev
2016 Diana Garcia Anurag Singh
2015 Shanay Murdock Jiaqi Li
2014 Laurence Anthonie Tumpag Nay Yan Oo
2013 Sarah Stuebing Beatriz Anabell Rodriguez Zelaya
2012 Matthew Ropp Hui Woon Sim