Faculty and Instructors

Faculty

Name Email Phone Area
Heather Bergan-Roller hroller@niu.edu 815-753-7421 Biology Education Research
Neil W. Blackstone neilb@niu.edu 815-753-7899 Ecology and Evolution
Barrie P. Bode bodebp@niu.edu 815-753-1753 Cancer Biology and Molecular Physiology
Jozef J. Bujarski jbujarski@niu.edu 815-753-0601 Microbiology/Plant Sciences
Ana Calvo amcalvo@niu.edu 815-753-0451 Microbiology, Molecular Mycology
Olivier Devergne odevergne@niu.edu 815-753-7446 Cell and Developmental Biology, Epithelial Cell Polarity
Melvin R. Duvall mel-duvall@niu.edu 815-753-7806 Plant Sciences
Holly Jones hjones@niu.edu 815-753-7527 Conservation biology; restoration ecology
(Joint appointment with Institute for the Study of the Environment, Sustainability and Energy)
Bethia H. King bking@niu.edu 815-753-8460 Ecology and Evolution
Richard B. King rbking@niu.edu 815-753-7833 Ecology and Evolution
Jennifer Koop jkoop@niu.edu 815-753-4215 Evolutionary Biology, Invasion Biology, Population Genetics, Conservation Biology
Jon S. Miller jsmiller@niu.edu 815-753-7830 Cell Biology
Virginia L. Naples vlnaples@niu.edu 815-753-7819 Ecology and Evolution
Karen E. Samonds ksamonds@niu.edu 815-753-3201 Anatomy and Paleontology
Pallavi Singh psingh1@niu.edu 815-753-7839 Human/animal microbiome, Bacterial pathogens, Comparative Genomics, One health, Food Safety
Wesley Swingley wswingley@niu.edu 815-753-7835 Microbial Ecology
Linda S. Yasui lyasui@niu.edu 815-753-3521 Cell Biology
Shengde Zhou szhou@niu.edu 815-753-7842 Microbial genetics, molecular biology, metabolic engineering, biotechnology

Teaching Faculty/Instructors

Name Email Phone Area
W. Scott Grayburn n/a 815-753-0368 Molecular Core Lab
Moira Jenkins mjenkins7@niu.edu 815-753-6295 Human Anatomical Sciences
Mary McGinn mmcginn3@niu.edu 815-753-1753 Anatomy
Daniel Olson drolson@niu.edu 815-753-3108 Anatomy

Joint Appointments

Name Email Primary Appointment
Beth Gaillard gaillard@niu.edu Chemistry and Biochemistry
Mitchell Irwin mirwin@niu.edu Anthropology
Melissa Lenczewski lenczewski@niu.edu Geology/Environmental Geosciences
Reed Scherer reed@niu.edu Geology/Environmental Geosciences

Postdoctoral Researchers

Name Email Lab Affiliation
Peter Guiden pguiden@niu.edu Jones
Neetika Khurana nkhurana@niu.edu Bode
John Vanek jvanek1@niu.edu R. King

Emeriti Faculty

Name Email
Richard R. Hahin hahin@niu.edu
Gabriel P. Holbrook gholbrook@niu.edu
R. Meganathan rmeganathan@niu.edu
Peter L. Meserve pmeserve@uidaho.edu
Paul D. Sorensen psorensen@niu.edu
Ronald Toth rtoth@niu.edu
Patricia S. Vary pvary@niu.edu
Carl N. Von Ende cvonende@niu.edu
Jerrold H. Zar jhzar@niu.edu