First-year Student Orientation

Join Your Facebook Group

Meet fellow Huskies on your class's Facebook page.

Our virtual orientation program is required for all admitted students. It will help you discover what it means to be a Huskie. You'll connect to helpful resources, learn how to get involved on campus and more. You must register for an orientation date and complete some tasks in advance.

Your orientation experience will include:

  • Pre-orientation Program (POP): A self-guided online module you must complete before your orientation date.
  • Session 0: A virtual session before your orientation date that will connect you with an orientation leader and fellow students.
  • Advising appointment: A virtual meeting with your advisor on your orientation date to prepare for registering for classes.

You'll receive information on POP and Session 0 after you register for an orientation date. Your advisor will contact you within seven days of your orientation date to tell you what time you'll meet.

Stay on track with our orientation checklist. If you have any questions, try checking the orientation FAQ.

How to register

Orientation Dates

Orientation dates fill quickly, so register as soon as possible. Please note that we do not have a waitlist.

Date Start Term
Wednesday, June 2, 2021 Fall/Summer 2021
Thursday, June 3, 2021 Fall/Summer 2021
Friday, June 4, 2021 Fall/Summer 2021
Tuesday, June 8, 2021 Fall/Summer 2021
Wednesday, June 9, 2021 Fall/Summer 2021
Tuesday, June 15, 2021 Fall 2021
Thursday, June 17, 2021 Fall 2021
Thursday, June 24, 2021 Fall 2021
Monday, July 12, 2021 Fall 2021
Wednesday, July 14, 2021 Fall 2021
Wednesday, July 28, 2021 Fall 2021
Monday, Aug. 2, 2021 Fall 2021
Friday, Aug. 13, 2021 Fall 2021
Monday, Aug. 16, 2021 Fall 2021

Register for Orientation

Contact Us

Orientation and First Year Programs
Altgeld Hall 100
DeKalb, IL 60115
815-753-0028
orientation@niu.edu

NIU OneBook

Join Our Team

Back to top