First-year Student Orientation

Join Your Facebook Group

Meet fellow Huskies on your class's Facebook page.

Our virtual orientation program is required for all admitted students and will help you discover what it means to be a Huskie. You'll connect to student resources like financial aid, learn how to get involved on campus, meet with your academic advisor and register for classes. See our orientation checklist to get started.

What to Know About Orientation

 

You will need to confirm your intent to enroll and pay your enrollment fee before you sign up for orientation. Once you’ve paid your fee you’ll be able to sign up for an orientation date.

  • Sign up for orientation by logging into the MyNIU system, navigating to the Undergraduate Orientation tile in your Student Center, by selecting your preferred session date. Advising for some academic programs is not available for all sessions. Dates do fill quickly — so register today! Please note, we do not have a waitlist.
  • Your virtual orientation experience will include your Pre-Orientation Program (POP), virtual meetings with an Orientation Leader and your peers during Session 0, and your initial advising and registration appointment with your academic advisor. After registering for an orientation date, you’ll receive an invitation to select when you’d like to complete your Session 0, a required part of the summer virtual orientation experience. Session 0 will give you the opportunity to engage with other new students and get you connected within the Huskie community.
  • An academic advisor from your college will contact you within the seven days leading up to your registered orientation advising date to provide you with your advising appointment time. You’ll participate in your initial advising appointment and enroll in your first semester courses on your orientation day.
  • If you've changed your major since you've applied to NIU, please make sure you fill out a change your major form. You'll receive confirmation of this change within 48 hours of submission.
Have questions? Check out our FAQ.

Orientation Advising

Date Start Term
Wednesday, Nov. 18, 2020 Spring 2021
Friday, Nov. 20, 2020 Spring 2021
Monday, Nov 23, 2020 Spring 2021
Friday, Dec. 4, 2020 Spring 2021
Thursday, Dec. 10, 2020 Spring 2021
Wednesday, Jan. 6, 2021 Spring 2021
Wednesday, June 2, 2021 Fall/Summer 2021
Thursday, June 3, 2021 Fall/Summer 2021
Friday, June 4, 2021 Fall/Summer 2021
Tuesday, June 8, 2021 Fall/Summer 2021
Wednesday, June 9, 2021 Fall/Summer 2021
Tuesday, June 15, 2021 Fall 2021
Thursday, June 17, 2021 Fall 2021
Thursday, June 24, 2021 Fall 2021
Monday, July 12, 2021 Fall 2021
Wednesday, July 14, 2021 Fall 2021
Wednesday, July 28, 2021 Fall 2021
Monday, Aug. 2, 2021 Fall 2021
Friday, Aug. 13, 2021 Fall 2021
Monday, Aug. 16, 2021 Fall 2021

Register for Orientation

Contact Us

Orientation and First Year Programs
Altgeld Hall 100
DeKalb, IL 60115
815-753-0028
orientation@niu.edu

NIU OneBook

Join Our Team

Back to top