First-Year Student Orientation

Join Your Facebook Group

Meet fellow Huskies on your class's Facebook page.

Orientation will help you become familiar with NIU, what it means to be a Huskie and meet other new students. You'll learn about student resources and how to get involved on campus. You'll also meet with your academic advisor and register for classes.

You'll be allowed to attend only the orientation programs that are available to you via the MyNIU system. Advising for some majors and colleges is not available for all programs. Orientation programs do fill quickly and space is limited—so register today! Please note, we do not have a waitlist for orientation programs.

If you've changed your major since you've applied to NIU, please make sure you fill out a change your major form. After you submit your form, you'll receive confirmation of this change within 48 hours.

Spring Orientation

Orientation program for students starting at NIU in the spring 2020 semester.

Session Date
1 Friday, Nov. 15, 2019
2 Tuesday, Nov. 19, 2019
3 Friday, Dec. 6, 2019
4 Wednesday, Dec. 11, 2019
5 Tuesday, Jan. 7, 2020

Summer/Fall Orientation

Orientation program for students starting at NIU in the summer or fall 2020 semesters.

Session Date
1 Thursday, June 4, 2020
2 Tuesday, June 9, 2020
3 Wednesday, June 10, 2020
4 Tuesday, June 16, 2020
5 Friday, June 19, 2020
6 Tuesday, June 23, 2020
7 Thursday, June 25, 2020
8 Wednesday, July 8 (no visual and performing arts advising
9 Tuesday, July 28, 2020
10 Wednesday, July 29, 2020

Register for Orientation

Contact Us

Orientation and First Year Programs
Altgeld Hall 100
DeKalb, IL 60115
815-753-0028
orientation@niu.edu

NIU OneBook

Apply to be a Leader

Back to top