Student Conduct

home-banner-sw2015

NIU continues to monitor developments related to the coronavirus (COVID-19) with a focus on the health and well-being of our university community. We are still working on student conduct matters during this time and will contact you as appropriate.

During the week of extended spring break, you're not required to come to campus for a student conduct hearing or meeting. You can conduct your meeting remotely by email at conduct@niu.edu or an electronic platform. There's no penalty for conducting your meeting remotely.

If you received a communication from us and would like to conduct your meeting remotely, email us as soon as possible. As a precautionary measure, we're currently operating with limited staffing, and it may take longer than usual to connect with us. Thanks for your patience.

Student Conduct helps students, staff and faculty maintain a positive learning environment. Our office coordinates the university student system and handles academic, residential, student conduct and disciplinary conflicts.

Our duties include educating students about responsible behavior and addressing unacceptable behavior. We aim to reach a fair resolution in each conduct case we handle. We also strive to use a consistent disciplinary process. In all we do, we focus on the health and safety of the university community.

Read more about our philosophy on the Student Code of Conduct page.

Contact Us

conduct@niu.edu 

Jeanne Meyer, Director
jeanne@niu.edu

Brian Glick, Associate Director
bglick@niu.edu

Joy Mitchell, Assistant Director
jmitchell@niu.edu

Kathy Hodgkinson, Office Manager
khodgkinson@niu.edu

Khyla Breland, Graduate Assistant
kbreland1@niu.edu

 

Report an Incident