These NIU faculty and staff contribute to the interdisciplinary nature of the Center for Nonprofit and NGO Studies' mission through their work on committees, by partnering on events and contributing to the Center's growth. Many associates also teach interdisciplinary courses that go toward completion of the Nonprofit and NGO Studies major, minor, certificate of undergraduate study in Nonprofit and NGO Studies and the undergraduate Grant Writing certificate.

If you are a faculty or staff member at NIU interested in becoming an associate of the center, please reach out to Mark Schuller, the acting director, at

Name Email Department Title
Michael Adzovic NIU Foundation Director, Northern Fund
Abu Bah Department of Sociology Professor
Tammy Batson Department of Economics Undergraduate Coordinator/Director, Center for Economic Education/Instructor
Greg Beyer School of Music Professor and Director of Percussion Studies
Colleen Boraca College of Law Clinical Associate Professor
Megan Brown  Department of Geology and Environmental Geosciences Assistant Professor
King Chung School of Allied Health and Communicative Disorders Professor
Bethany Cockburn Department of Management Assistant Professor
Catherine Doederlein Division of Human Resource Services Director, Employee Experience
Joseph Flynn Department of Curriculum and Instruction Associate Professor/Executive Director for Equity and Inclusion, Division of Academic Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
Aarie Glas Department of Political Science Associate Professor
Jennifer Groce Division of Outreach, Engagement and Regional Development Director of Community Promotions
Anne Hanley  Department of History Professor
Mary Lynn Henningsen  Department of Communication Professor
Michaela Holtz Division of Student Affairs Executive Director of Strategy, Impact and Academic Partnerships
Trude Jacobsen Gidaszewski Department of History Professor
Laura Johnson Department of Educational Technology, Research and Assessment Professor
Christine Lagattolla Recreation, Division of Intercollegiate Athletics Associate Director of External Affairs
Julie Langer Department of Public Administration Assistant Professor
Lori Lawson Department of English Instructor
Sandy Lopez  Division of Academic Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Coordinator for Undocumented Student Support
Ismael Montana Department of History Associate Professor
Christine Mooney Department of Management Associate Professor and Barsema Professor of Social Entrepreneurship
Nina Mounts Department of Psychology Professor, Developmental Psychology
Martin Ndicu Department of Accountancy Assistant Professor
Mark Pietrowski  College of Engineering and Engineering Technology Director/Advisor
Alesha Porisky Department of Political Science Assistant Professor
Nancy Prange School of Health Studies Instructor and Dietetic Internship Director
Rebecca Pritchard School of Health Studies Practicum Coordinator/Undergraduate Advisor
Andrea Radasanu Department of Political Science Associate Professor/Assistant Vice Provost  for Student Enhancement

Diane Rodgers Department of Sociology Professor
Luke Sebby NIU Foundation Executive Director for Strategic Initiatives
Thomas Skuzinski Department of Public Administration Associate Professor/Director, Institute for the Study of the Environment, Sustainability and Energy
Lawrence Stein College of Law Assistant Professor/Director, Business Innovation Law Clinic
Kurt Thurmaier Department of Public Administration Distinguished Engagement Professor
Wendy Vaughn College of Law Clinical Professor/Director of Clinics
Laura Vazquez Department of Communication Professor
Simón Weffer-Elizondo Department of Sociology Associate Professor/Director of College Diversity, Equity and Inclusion