About the Faculty Senate

Article 7.3 of the University Constitution establishes a Faculty Senate as the representative body of the faculty. Together with its related councils and committees, the Faculty Senate has the responsibility to establish, direct, and oversee academic matters.

The Faculty Senate shall serve the following purposes:

  • Make policy decisions related to the faculty personnel system, to the university curriculum and to policy decisions concerning admissions and academic standards;
  • Promote a climate of academic freedom for the university community;
  • Advance the instructional mission of the university by maintaining an optimal learning environment throughout the university;
  • Encourage research and artistry and the appreciation of the intellectual values of the arts, the humanities, the sciences and the professions;
  • Serve as the legitimate representative of faculty concerns vis-a-vis the university administration;
  • Define and establish standards and procedures of accountability concerning professional faculty ethics and responsibilities, and to promote adherence to those standards and procedures;
  • Encourage an informed, continuing, and academically responsible participation in those faculty governance roles defined in the University Constitution and Bylaws.

Contact Us

University Council
Altgeld Hall 103

Benjamin Creed
President, Faculty Senate
Chair, University Council

Pat Erickson
Administrative Assistant

Linda Saborío
Faculty Advisory Council to the IBHE

Carrie Kortegast
Faculty Personnel Advisor

Back to top