Local Agencies

There are four police agencies that have authority in the DeKalb campus area: NIU Police, City of DeKalb Police, DeKalb County Sheriff’s Office and Illinois State Police. This explains why different police cars drive through the area. If there is an incident either on or off campus requiring a police presence, each of these four agencies can respond. Each incident would only be reported once to ensure accuracy in crime statistics.

Contact Information

NIU Police Department

Report crimes that occur on NIU's campus to the NIU Department of Police and Public Safety.

DeKalb Police Department

Report crimes that occur within the city of DeKalb to the DeKalb Police Department.

DeKalb County Sheriff’s Office

Report crimes that occur outside of the city of DeKalb to the DeKalb County Sheriff’s Office.

Illinois State Police

The Illinois State Police patrol the entire state and divide the state into various districts. NIU is in ISP district 2, which serves the following counties: DeKalb, DuPage, Kane, Lake, and McHenry. However, if you have an issue that occurred on a highway, you want to contact district 15 (information below).

If you are not certain which agency to contact, just call us.

Contact Us

In case of emergency: Call 911

Non-Emergency Phone Number: 815-753-1212

Email: niupd@niu.edu

Connect with us on