In an effort to provide feedback to student presenters, each presenter will have two 'judges' view their poster during the online viewing period and rate the poster and presentation based on the judge rubric (PDF). We encourage you to utilize this rubric when preparing for the event.

Students who rank first, second or third in their respective award category receive a monetary award. Prizes will be in the following categories:

  • Social and Behavioral Sciences
  • Biological and Chemical Sciences
  • Environmental and Physical Sciences
  • Education and Humanities
  • Health and Medical Sciences
  • Arts, Design, and Performing Arts
  • Community and Civic Engagement
  • Engineering and Computational Sciences

Faculty Mentor of the Year

CURE participants have an opportunity to nominate their mentor for the Faculty Mentor of the Year award. Nominees are evaluated on their ability to foster student participation in research and artistry activities, the balance between advisee and nurturing critical thinking, and the ability to develop a mentoring relationship that exudes genuine care in the student and their learning.

Submit Nomination

2020 Award Winners

Arts, Education, Health, Humanities and Social Sciences Posters

  • 1st Place: Brianne Maksimovic
    Space Rat Force: Effects of Galactic Cosmic Rays on Gross Motor Control in Rats Anomalies
  • Department: Psychology
    Faculty Mentor: Doug Wallace, Ph.D.
  • 2nd Place: Justine Rivard
    Intriguing or unsettling? How Dimensions of Curiosity Predict Reactions to Novelty
    Department: Psychology
    Faculty Mentor(s): Amanda Durik, Ph.D.
  • 3rd Place: Ashlyn Thurman, Lynn Kang and Maria Medrano
    The Effects of Child ADHD Symptoms and Parental Stress on Parental Self-Efficacy
    Department: Psychology
    Faculty Mentor: Julia Ogg, Ph.D.

Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Posters

  • 1stPlace: Isabella Guizzetti
    The Effect of Metformin and Sorafenib on ASCT2 Knockout Hepatocellular Carcinoma Cell Growth
    Department: Biological Sciences
    Faculty Mentor: Barrie Bode, Ph.D.
  • 2ndPlace: Meagan Paramo and Makena Paramo
    Evolutionary Conflict and Coral Bleaching: What Doesn't Kill You Makes You Stronger
    Department: Biological Sciences
    Faculty Mentor: Neil Blackstone, Ph.D.
  • 3rdPlace: Pruthvish Patel, Graice Veronda and Diana Miguel
    Attachment of Microbes to LDPE Plastic Following Chemical Treatments
    Department: Biological Sciences
    Faculty Mentor: Scott Grayburn, Ph.D.

Community Engagement Showcase Award

  • 1st Place: Celine Taylor
    Traffic-Related Injuries in Myanmar
    Department: Public Health
    Faculty Mentor: Tomoyuki Shibata, Ph.D.
  • 2ndPlace: Dioco Reyes and Emily Grobe
    Community Development in Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Mentor: Michaela Holtz
    Organizations: Huskie Alternative Breaks and Habitat for Humanity of Kent County
  • 3rdPlace: Riley McCabe and Hannah Thompson
    Memphis: Civic Engagement
    Mentor: Michaela Holtz
    Organizations: Huskie Alternative Breaks and Serve901

Contact Us

Office of Student Engagement and Experiential Learning
Back to top