C. Mason and Madeline Myers Award

The Department of Philosophy is pleased to announce that Pierce Neal and Joshua Seidman-Zager have been selected as recipients of the C. Mason and Madeline Myers Graduate Philosophy Award for 2024.

Origin of the C. Mason and Madeline Myers Award

The C. Mason and Madeline Myers Graduate Philosophy Award is given by the departmental Graduate Committee to a graduate student in philosophy whose overall academic achievements and contributions to the professional life of the department have been the most outstanding. The award is funded by an endowment established by family and friends to honor and memorialize Professor C. Mason Myers. Dr. Myers chaired the department and taught at Northern Illinois University for 27 years until his death on December 3, 1986.

Myers Award Winners

2024 Pierce Neal
Joshua Seidman-Zager
2023 Nurit Matuk Blaustein
Dashiell Shulman
2022 Conner Fastenau
2021 Meredith Sheeks
2020 Devin Lane
2019 John Hill
2018 Brianna Campbell
2018 Christopher Copan
2017 David Clark
2017 Caley Howland
2016 Timothy Buchanan
2015 Drew Johnson
2015 Wes Siscoe
2014 Griffin Klemick
2013 Tanya Kostochka
2012 Renee Jorgensen
2011 Timothy Kakos
2011 Hope Sample
2010 Matthew Babb
2009 Amy Seymour
2008 Jeffrey Snapper
2008 Craig Warmke
2007 Sharon Mason
2006 Adam Pringle
2005 Jamin Asay
2005 Peter Nichols
2004 Vinod Lakshmipathy
2003 Matthew Konieczka
2002 Mark Anderson
2000 Michael Mulvey
1997 Todd Kukla
1996 John O’Connor
1995 Ryan Streeter
1994 Michael Shaffer
1993 David Billings
1992 Christopher Conn