Faculty

Professorial

Valia Allori Valia Allori, Professor (Ph.D., Rutgers)
Philosophy of Physics, Philosophy of Science, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Mathematics
vallori@niu.edu
   
Lenny Clapp Lenny Clapp, Professor (Ph.D., MIT)
Philosophy of Language, Philosophy of Mind, History of Analytic Philosophy
lclapp@niu.edu
   
Steven Daskal Steven Daskal, Associate Professor (Ph.D., Michigan)
Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award Winner, 2015
Moral and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Action
sdaskal@niu.edu
   
Mylan Engel Jr. Mylan Engel Jr., Professor (Ph.D., Arizona)
Presidential Teaching Professor
Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award Winner, 2009
Epistemology, Philosophy of Religion, Metaphysics, Thomas Reid, Animal Rights
mylan-engel@niu.edu
   
Alicia Finch Alicia Finch, Associate Professor (Ph.D., Notre Dame)
Metaphysics, Ancient Greek Philosophy, Philosophy of Religion, Feminist Philosophy
afinch@niu.edu
   
Carl Gillett Carl Gillett, Professor (Ph.D., Rutgers)
Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Religion
cgillett@niu.edu
   
Jason Hanna Jason Hanna, Professor (Ph.D., Colorado)
Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award Winner, 2016
Normative and Applied Ethics
jhanna@niu.edu
   
   
Craig Warmke Craig Warmke, Assistant Professor (Ph.D., UNC Chapel Hill)
Metaphysics, Philosophical Logic, Philosophy of Mathematics
warmke@niu.edu
   

Instructional

Nicoleta Apostol Nicoleta Apostol, Instructor (M.A., Northern Illinois University)
napostol@niu.edu
   
John Beaudoin John Beaudoin, Instructor (Ph.D., Iowa)
Philosophy of Religion, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Law
jbeaudoin@niu.edu

Contact Us

Department of Philosophy
Zulauf Hall 915

Jessica Williams, Office Staff
jwilliams4@niu.edu

Melinda Davis, Office Administrator
ldavis@niu.edu

Undergraduate Advisor
Prof. Steve Daskal
Zulauf 1026
sdaskal@niu.edu

Graduate Advisor
Prof. Lenny Clapp
Zulauf 903
lclapp@niu.edu

Department Chair
Jason Hanna
jhanna@niu.edu