Awards and Recognition

Liberal Arts and Sciences Deans' Award

In 1970-71, the college office established an annual Deans' Award to give recognition to seniors who made outstanding contributions to their major departments.

JoAnne Rafalson Memorial Essay Prize

The JoAnne Rafalson Memorial Essay Contest is funded by an endowment established by Bruce Rafalson to memorialize JoAnne Rafalson and to recognize and support outstanding achievement in philosophical essay writing by NIU philosophy graduate students.

C. Mason and Madeline Myers Award

The C. Mason and Madeline Myers Graduate Philosophy Award is given by the departmental Graduate Committee to a graduate student for outstanding achievement in graduate study in philosophy.

Sherman M. Stanage Scholarship

The Sherman M. Stanage Scholarship was established by Diane Stanage to provide undergraduate philosophy students with $1,000 in financial support and to honor the memory of her late husband, Professor Sherman M. Stanage.

William E. Tolhurst Travel Fund

The William E. Tolhurst Travel Fund was established by the family of William Tolhurst, Ph.D. to honor his memory by providing financial support for philosophy graduate students who deliver papers in value theory at professional conferences.

Contact Us

Department of Philosophy
Zulauf Hall 915

Melinda Davis, Office Administrator

Undergraduate Advisor
Prof. Steve Daskal
Zulauf 1026

Graduate Advisor
Prof. Carl Gillett
Zulauf 904

Department Chair
Jason Hanna
Zulauf 902