Emeritus Faculty

  • Harold I. Brown, Distinguished Research Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., Northwestern)
    philosophy of science, epistemology
    hibrown@niu.edu
  • David J. Buller, Distinguished Research Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., Northwestern)
    philosophy of science, logic and philosophy of logic, history of analytic philosophy
  • James Dye (1934-2016), Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., Tulane)
    ancient Greek philosophy, 18th century philosophy, philosophy of religion
  • C. Michael Gelven (1937-2018), Distinguished Research Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., Washington University)
    metaphysics, Heidegger, Kant, Nietzsche, philosophy in literature, philosophy of war
  • James Hudson, Associate Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., Johns Hopkins)
    ethics, social and political philosophy, analytic philosophy
    jhudson@niu.edu
  • Tomis Kapitan (1949-2016), Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., Indiana)
    metaphysics, philosophy of language, international ethics
  • James King, Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., Notre Dame)
    ethics, philosophy of law, modern philosophy
    jtking@niu.edu
  • Theodore Kisiel, Distinguished Research Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., Duquesne)
    phenomenology, hermeneutics of natural science, history of philosophy, metaphysics
    tkisiel@niu.edu
  • William Tolhurst (1947-2011), Associate Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., University of Connecticut)
    ethical theory, aesthetics, Chinese philosophy
  • E. W. van Steenburgh, Associate Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., Michigan)
    philosophy of mind
  • Sharon Sytsma, Associate Professor Emeritus (Ph.D., Loyola)
    ethical theory, biomedical ethics, ancient Greek philosophy
    ssytsma@niu.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Dorothy Coleman, Adjunct Associate Professor (Ph.D., Penn State)
Hume, Kant, modern philosophy, epistemology, ethics
dcoleman@niu.edu

Contact Us

Department of Philosophy
Zulauf Hall 915

Jessica Williams, Office Staff
jwilliams4@niu.edu

Melinda Davis, Office Administrator
ldavis@niu.edu

Undergraduate Advisor
Prof. Steve Daskal
Zulauf 1026
sdaskal@niu.edu

Graduate Advisor
Prof. Lenny Clapp
Zulauf 903
lclapp@niu.edu

Department Chair
Jason Hanna
jhanna@niu.edu