Department News

The department mourns the passing of our friend and retired colleague Tomis Kapitan (1949-2016). During 23 years of service to NIU, Professor Kapitan enriched the lives of his colleagues and inspired thousands of students, through whom his example and influence live on.

Prof. Geoff Pynn did an "Ask Me Anything" on Reddit. Check out what he had to say.

Geoff Pynn has received high praise from Open Culture for his work with the WiPhi open access philosophy project.

Junior philosophy major and Research Rookie David Lorenzo won Third Place Humanities Prize at the Undergraduate Research and Artistry Day.

Jason Hanna has been awarded the 2016 Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award. This marks the third consecutive year that a Philosophy professor has received this award.

More news >

Upcoming Events

10th Annual Northern Graduate Philosophy Conference
October 28-29, 2016

Conference Program

Keynote Address
Sarah Moss
University of Michigan
"Probabilistic Knowledge"
3:00 p.m., University Suite, Holmes Student Center

Neil Sinhababu 
National University of Singapore


Friday, November 18th, 2016
3:00 p.m., Altgeld 315

More Events >

Contact Us

Department of Philosophy
Northern Illinois University
Zulauf Hall 915
DeKalb, IL 60115
Fax: (815) 753-0543

Jessica Williams, Office Staff
Phone: (815) 753-0331
Email: jwilliams4@niu.edu

Jonie Barshinger, Office Manager
Phone: (815) 753-0333
Email: jonie@niu.edu

Undergraduate Advisor

Prof. Steve Daskal
Office: Zulauf 922
Phone: (815) 753-6410
Email: sdaskal@niu.edu

Graduate Advisor

Prof. David J. Buller
Office: Zulauf 902
Phone: (815) 753-6299
Email: buller@niu.edu

Department Chair

David J. Buller
Phone: (815) 753-6299
Email: buller@niu.edu