Department of Philosophy


Department News

  • Congratulations to philosophy major Janai Crumbley, who is one of five recipients of NIU's Forward, Together Forward Scholarship for 2021
  • Congratulations to Meredith Sheeks (M.A., expected 2021), who has received the 2021 Myers Award for outstanding graduate student in philosophy.
  • Two philosophy majors—seniors Brooke Lavite and Claire Miller—were named as finalists for NIU's Lincoln Laureate Award. Congratulations to both!
  • Professor Alicia Finch has received NIU's 2020 Distinguished Graduate Faculty Award, in recognition of outstanding contributions to graduate education at NIU.

Contact Us

The philosophy department office remains open, but hours vary. If you need in-person service, please call first.

Department of Philosophy
Zulauf Hall 915

Melinda Davis, Office Administrator

Undergraduate Advisor
Prof. Steve Daskal
Zulauf 1026

Graduate Advisor
Prof. Lenny Clapp
Zulauf 903

Department Chair
Jason Hanna