Skip navigation

Contact Us

bannerImage3

General Information

Division of Academic Affairs
Altgeld Hall 215
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, IL 60115

815-753-8387
815-753-0701 FAX
provost@niu.edu  

Provost Staff 


Chris McCordChris McCord, Ph.D
Executive Vice President and Provost
Altgeld Hall 215C-1 
815-753-0493
mccord@niu.edu 

Anne BirberickAnne Birberick
Vice Provost for Undergraduate Academic Affairs
Altgeld Hall 215B 
815-753-0494
annie@niu.edu

Carolinda DouglassCarolinda Douglass, Ph.D.
Vice Provost for Institutional Effectiveness
Altgeld Hall 220B 
815-753-0492
cdoug@niu.edu

 
 
 

Vernese Edghill-WaldenVernese Edghill-Walden
Senior Associate Vice President for Academic Diversity
and Chief Diversity Officer
Altgeld Hall 211
815-753-2638
vedghillwalden@niu.edu

Murali KrisnamurthiMurali Krishnamurthi
Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
Altgeld Hall 214
815-753-6502
mkrishna@niu.edu

Susan MiniSusan Mini
Vice Provost for Resource Planning
Altgeld Hall 220C
815-753-0495
smini@niu.edu 

Academic Leadership

Derryl BlockDerryl Block
Dean, College of Health and Human Sciences
815-753-1891 
dblock@niu.edu
Bradley BondBradley Bond
Dean, Graduate School
815-753-0395 
bbond@niu.edu
Mark CordesMark Cordes
Interim Dean, College of Law 
815-753-0380
mcordes@niu.edu 
Laurie Elish-PiperLaurie Elish-Piper
Dean, College of Education
815-753-1949
laurieep@niu.edu 
Omar GhrayebDonald Peterson
Dean, College of Engineering & Engineering Technology 
815-753-2256
drpeterson@niu.edu 
Paul KasselPaul Kassel
Dean, College of Visual and Performing Arts  
815-753-1635 
pkassel@niu.edu
Fred BarnhartFred Barnhart 
Dean, University Libraries  
815-753-1995 
fbarnhart@niu.edu
Balaji RagopalanBalaji Ragopalan 
Dean, College of Business 
815-753-1755 
brajagopalan@niu.edu

Associate Vice Provost and Directors

Greg BarkerGreg Barker
Director
Testing Services
Adams Hall 128
815-753-1203
gbarker1@niu.edu

Melissa DawsonMelissa Dawson
Director/Associate Athletic Director
Student Athlete Academic Support Services (SAASS)
Yordon Center 110E
815-753-1727
mdawson@niu.edu

Shevawn EatonShevawn Eaton
Director
ACCESS
Williston Hall 100F
815-753-1141
seaton1@niu.edu 

Todd GilsonTodd Gilson
Director
University Honors Program
Campus Life Building 110B
815-753-0694
tgilson@niu.edu

Chad GloverChad Glover
Director
Jobs PLUS
Holmes Student Center 705
815-753-2056
cglover@niu.edu

Denise HaymanDenise Hayman
Director
CHANCE Program
Williston Hall 125A
815 -53-0201
dhayman1@niu.edu

Dan HouseDan House
Director
Institutional Research
Lowden Hall 103
815-753-6002

jhouse@niu.edu

Gail Jacky
Director
University Writing Center
Stevenson B Lower Level
815-753-6636
gjacky@niu.edu

Renique KershRenique Kersh
Associate Vice Provost/Director
Office of Student Engagement and Experiential Learning
Altgeld Hall 100
815-753-8154
rkersh@niu.edu

Ed KlonoskiEd Klonoski
Associate Vice Provost
Office of Undergraduate Academic Affairs 
Altgeld Hall 215A
815-753-8387
eklonoski@niu.edu

Brandon LaganaBrandon Lagana
Acting Executive Director
Career Services
Campus Life
815-753-7140
blagana@niu.edu

Jerry MontagJerry Montag
Director/Registrar
Registration and Records
Williston Hall 220
815-753-0681
jerry.montag@niu.edu

Jenny ParkerJenny Parker
Associate Vice Provost
University Office of Educator Licensure & Preparation
Williston Hall 214
815-753-0846
jparker@niu.edu

Michelle PickettMichelle Pickett
Director
Academic Advising Center
Academic Advising Center 100B
815-753-2573
mpickett@niu.edu

Jeff ReynoldsJeff Reynolds
Director
Decision, Support and Analysis
Altgeld Hall 215 
815-753-7997
jreynolds@niu.edu  

Jason RhodeJason Rhode
Director
Faculty Development and Instructional Design Center
Adams Hall 318
815-753-0595
jrhode@niu.edu  

Kelly SmithKelly Smith
Director
First- and Second-Year Experience
Altgeld 100
815-753-0028
kellysmith@niu.edu 

Ritu SubramonyRitu Subramony
Director
Accreditation, Assessment and Evaluation 
Altgeld Hall 316
815-753-3545
rsubramony1@niu.edu  


Administrative Support

Photo Not AvailablePeggy Carlson
Research Assistant
Resource Planning
Lowden Hall 105 
815-753-6588
mmcarlson@niu.edu

Dana Ditrichs-KunkelDana Ditrichs-Kunkel
Administrative Assistant
Faculty Affairs
Altgeld Hall 216 
815-753-8386
dditrichs@niu.edu 

Crystal DoyleCrystal Doyle
Administrative Assistant
Office of Institutional Effectiveness
Altgeld Hall 220 
815-753-8378
ccoppel@niu.edu

Photo Not AvailableSarah Leis
Associate Director, Decision Support and Analysis
Swen Parson 316 
815-753-4242
sleis@niu.edu

Photo Not AvailableAbby Lund
Business Administrative Associate
Wiliston Hall 300 
815-753-1144
alund@niu.edu

Roger MaasRoger Maas
Associate Director of Budget and Facilities
Altgeld Hall 220D 
815-753-8380
rmaas@niu.edu

Jeanne RatfieldJeanne Ratfield
Administrative Assistant
Undergraduate Academic Affairs
Altgeld Hall 215 
815-753-8381
jrat@niu.edu

Donna SmithDonna Smith
Catalog Editor/Curriculum Coordinator
Wiliston Hall 321 
815-753-0126
dsmith@niu.edu

Liz WrightLiz Wright
Assistant to the Executive Vice President and Provost
Altgeld Hall 215C-2
815-753-9400
ewright1@niu.edu