Academic Planning Council
(FS Bylaws, Article 4.3)

Membership of APC
Minutes of APC

4.3 Academic Planning Council

4.3.1 Composition Faculty Representation

(A) Eight faculty representatives shall be chosen as follows: one each from the Colleges of Business, Education, Engineering and Engineering Technology, Health and Human Sciences, Liberal Arts and Sciences, Law, and Visual and Performing Arts, and one from University Libraries.

 College faculty shall be elected by the college council of the college they represent, or by the college faculty if there is no college council. Library faculty shall be elected by the University Libraries faculty. Faculty members shall serve three-year staggered terms beginning in the fall semester. If no elected faculty representative is a voting member of the Faculty Senate, the Senate shall elect one Senate member to serve on the council as ex officio, nonvoting member. No department shall have more than one faculty representative at any one time. Student Representation

(A) One student, either an undergraduate or graduate student, shall be appointed annually as a voting member of the council. The appointment shall be made by the president of the Student Government Association. Terms of office for student members shall begin at the beginning of the fall semester; no such term shall extend beyond the beginning of the succeeding fall semester. Students shall be eligible for reappointment to successive terms. Administration Representation

(A) The executive vice president and provost, who shall serve ex officio.

 The vice provost for institutional effectiveness, who shall serve ex officio, without vote:

4.3.2 Chair The executive vice president and provost shall serve as the chair of the council and shall vote when necessary to break a tie vote. The faculty representatives on the council shall elect from among their members a faculty representative who shall serve as the assistant chair of the council. The assistant chair shall preside over council meetings in the absence of the chair, act as a liaison between the chair and council members between meetings of the council, and perform such other duties as may be assigned by either the council or the council chair. The assistant chair shall be chosen annually at the first meeting of the council each fall semester and shall serve a renewable term of one year. 

4.3.3 Duties - Reporting to the Faculty Senate, the council shall: Prepare and periodically update the academic mission statement for Northern Illinois University. Develop and periodically bring up-to-date plans and strategies to fulfill the university's academic mission. Review college and University Libraries reports of the periodic review of academic programs in terms of their quality and their consistency with the institution's academic mission. Advise the executive vice president and provost on academic priorities and strategies for the achievement of those priorities, including the establishment of priorities in budgeting.

4.3.4 Academic Planning Council minutes and reports are to be distributed to all Faculty Senate and University Council members and deposited in the university archives.

4.3.5 All substantive policy recommendations are subject to Faculty Senate approval.

Academic Planning Council

The APC meets the third Monday of the month, 3-4 p.m. The 2020-21 schedule is: Sep 21, Oct 19, Nov 16, Feb 15, Mar 15, Apr 19.

Executive Vice President & Provost, APC Chair, ex officio Beth Ingram Beth Ingram            
Business Brad Cripe Yipeng Liu Yipeng Liu Yipeng Liu
Education Cynthia Campbell Cynthia Campbell Cymthia Campbell
Engineering & Eng. Technology Donald Zinger Donald Zinger
Health and Human Sciences Hamid Bateni Hamid Bateni Hamid Bateni
Law *Marc Falkoff Marc Falkoff Marc Falkoff
Liberal Arts & Sciences Evgueni Nesterov for Stephen Evgueni Nesterov for Stephen
Visual & Performing Arts Judith Chitwood Judith Chitwood Judith Chitwood
University Libraries Leanne VandeCreek Leanne VandeCreek Leanne VandeCreek
Student Jacob Sommer            
Vice Provost for Institutional Effectiveness or designee, ex officio, nonvoting Carolinda Douglass Carolinda Douglass            

*assistant chair

Contact Us

University Council
Altgeld Hall 103

Kendall Thu
President, Faculty Senate
Chair, University Council

Pat Erickson
Administrative Assistant

Steven Howell
Faculty Personnel Advisor

Linda Saborío
Faculty Advisory Council to the IBHE

Back to top