About Strategic Enrollment Management (SEM)

Strategic Enrollment Management (SEM) planning at NIU is a coordinated effort led by the SEM steering committee, along with college-level SEM committees and SEM working groups.

SEM Steering Committee

Representatives from each working group and Associate Deans from each College serve on the SEM steering committee, which is co-chaired by the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies and the Vice President for Enrollment Management, Marketing and Communications. This committee is charged with serving as an accountability board for each working group and college-level committee.

The SEM steering committee takes on the larger role of project management and developing a process for regular reporting to ensure that key stakeholders are held accountable and that we are doing our due diligence to ensure adequate progress toward achieving the SEM objectives.

Steering Committee Co-chairs

  • Omar Ghrayeb
    Senior Vice Provost, Academic Affairs (co-chair)
  • Sol Jensen
    Vice President, Enrollment Management, Marketing and Communications (co-chair)

Steering Committee Members

  • Taylor Atkins
    Associate Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Greg Barker
    Executive Director, Institutional Research and Analytics
  • Vernese Edghill-Walden
    Vice President, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion and Chief Diversity Officer
  • Anne Hardy
    Director, Scholarships and Financial Advising
  • Ed Klonoski
    Associate Dean, College of Visual and Performing Arts
  • Nichole Knutson
    Associate Vice Provost, Student Success
  • Michael Kushnick
    Associate Dean, College of Health and Human Sciences
  • Mayra Lagunas
    Assistant Vice President, Enrollment Services and Director, Undergraduate Admissions
  • Lisa Miner
    Associate Vice President, Institutional Communications
  • Margee Myles
    Director, Undergraduate Advising and Student Resources, College of Business
  • Jennice O’Brien
    Assistant Vice President, Web and Internal Communications
  • Daewoo Park
    Associate Dean, College of Business
  • Michelle Pickett
    Director, Academic Advising Center
  • Mark Pietrowski
    Director, Central Advising Office, College of Engineering and Engineering Technology
  • Jason Rhode
    Executive Director, Center for Innovative Teaching and Learning
  • Katy Saalfeld
    Associate Director, Undergraduate Admissions
  • Michael Stang
    Assistant Vice President, Student Affairs
  • David Walker
    Associate Dean, College of Education
  • Kerry Wilks
    Dean, Graduate School and Associate Vice President, International Affairs

Contact Us

Beth Ingram
Executive Vice President and Provost

Sol Jensen
Vice President, Enrollment Management, Marketing and Communications

Back to top