CLAS Departmental Advising Contacts

Listed below are the department chairs and principal undergraduate advisors within the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Because this information changes periodically, contact the telephone number listed for the department if you are having difficulty contacting an individual.

Department Chair/Director Phone Undergraduate Advisor Email Phone
Anthropology
SB 190
Leila Porter 815-753-0246 Kerry Sagebiel askAnthro@niu.edu 815-753-0246
Biological Sciences
MO 349
Barrie Bode 815-753-0433
Ted Burgess eburgess2@niu.edu 815-753-0433
Paul Fix (Educator Licensure) pfix@niu.edu 815-753-6819
Chemistry and Biochemistry
FR 319
Ralph Wheeler 815-753-1181
Lee Sunderlin sunder@niu.edu 815-753-1131
Michael Eads (Educator Licensure) meads@niu.edu 815-753-6492
Communication
WH 209
Mehdi Semati 815-753-7108 Ryan Pumroy comsadvising@niu.edu 815-753-5354
Computer Science
PM 460
Nicholas Karonis 815-753-0349 Daniel Rogness drogness1@niu.edu 815-753-0378
Economics
ZH 515
Carl Campbell 815-753-6957 Tammy Batson tbatson@niu.edu 815-753-2455
English
RH 214
Lara Crowley 815-753-0615
Beth McFarland-Wilson bmcwilson@niu.edu 815-753-7570
Judith Pokorny (Educator Licensure) jpokorny@niu.edu 815-753-6609
Environmental Studies
MO 325
Melissa Lenczewski 815-753-6563 Melissa Burlingame mburlingame@niu.edu 815-753-6563
Geographic and Atmospheric Sciences
DH 118
David Changnon 815-753-6826
Dave Changnon (Meteorology) dchangnon@niu.edu 815-753-6826
Wei Luo (Geography and Geomatics) wluo@niu.edu 815-753-9208
Geology and Environmental Geosciences
DH 312
Mark Fischer 815-753-0523
Justin Dodd jdodd@niu.edu 815-753-1943
Nicole LaDue (Educator Licensure) nladue@niu.edu 815-753-7936
815-753-7935
History
ZH 715
Valerie Garver 815-753-6810
E. Taylor Atkins etatkins@niu.edu 815-753-6699
Kristin Huffine  khuffine@niu.edu  815-753-6814
John Alcalde (Educator Licensure) jalcalde1@niu.edu 815-753-5903
Frank Bell (Educator Licensure) fbell@niu.edu 815-753-6576
Mathematical Sciences
WH 320 
Jeffrey Thunder 815-753-6725
Qingkai Kong qkong@niu.edu 815-753-6739
Renee Olson (Educator Licensure) rolsen2@niu.edu 815-753-5390
Paul Stevenson (Educator Licensure) pstevenson@niu.edu 815-753-6749
Nonprofit and NGO Studies
ZH 114
Alicia Schatteman, Acting 815-753-4410 Stephanie Kummerer skummerer@niu.edu 815-753-4410
Statistics and Actuarial Science
DU 366
Barbara Gonzales 815-753-6847 Carrie Helmig chelming@niu.edu 815-753-6729
Philosophy
ZH 915
David Buller 815-753-6299< Steve Daskal sdaskal@niu.edu 815-753-6410
Physics
LaTourette 202
Vishnu Zutshi 815-753-6492
Yasuo Ito yito@niu.edu 815-753-6477
Michael Eads (Educator Licensure) meads@niu.edu 815-753-6492
Political Science
ZH 415
Scot Schraufnagel 815-753-7040 Mikel Wyckoff mwyckoff@niu.edu 815-753-7039
Pre-Professional Programs 815-753-2573 Keyalo Gray kgray1@niu.edu
Psychology
PM 400
Amanda Durik 815-753-7065 Michelle Demaray mkdemaray@niu.edu 815-753-0372
Public Administration Kurt Thurmaier 815-753-0311 Denise Burchard dburchard@niu.edu 815-753-6149
Sociology
ZH 815
Mike Ezell 815-753-1194 Kristie Crane kristieb@niu.edu 815-753-0365
World Languages and Cultures
WH 111
John Bentley 815-753-1259
Jessamine Cooke-Plagwitz (French, Italian, Spanish and Portuguese) jpcooke@niu.edu 815-753-6448
Linda Saborio (Slavic, Asian and Classics) lsaborio@niu.edu 815-753-9306
Kathy Kuschman (Educator Licensure) kkuschman@niu.edu 815-753-6449
Karen Lichtman (Educator Licensure) klictman@niu.edu 815-753-6443
Center for Latino and Latin American Studies Christina Abreu 815-753-1532 Christina Abreu cabreu@niu.edu 815-753-1532
Center for Southeast Asian Studies Eric Jones, Acting 815-753-1595 Matthew Jagel Mjagel2@niu.edu 815-753-1595
Center for the Study of Women, Gender and Sexuality
RH 103
Kate Cady, Acting 815-753-1038 Katie Heinkamp 815-753-1038