Department News

Professor Valia Allori, discussed the philosophy of physics in a recent interview with 3:16.

Evan Dutmer (B.A., 2012), Instructor of Latin at Culver Academies, was recently named 2020 Teacher of the Year by the Indiana Classical Conference.

Congratulations to Zachary Smith (M.A., expected 2020) for being the Philosophy Department's recipient of the Graduate School's 2020 Outstanding Graduate Student Award, in recognition of distinction in the area of scholarship.

Jacob Zimbelman (M.A., expected 2020) has been selected winner of the 2020 Rafalson Essay Contest for his essay "The Benefit of the Doubt and the Presumption of Trust." Congratulations, Jacob!

More news >

Upcoming Events

Luvell Anderson, Syracuse University

Philosophy of Language and Philosophy of Race

November 13, 2020
3:00 p.m., Stevens 170AC

More Events >

Contact Us

Department of Philosophy
Northern Illinois University
Zulauf Hall 915
DeKalb, IL 60115

Jessica Williams, Office Staff
Email: jwilliams4@niu.edu

Melinda Davis, Office Administrator
Email: ldavis@niu.edu

Undergraduate Advisor

Prof. Steve Daskal
Office: Zulauf 1026
Email: sdaskal@niu.edu

Graduate Advisor

Prof. Lenny Clapp
Office: Zulauf 903
Email: lclapp@niu.edu

Department Chair

Jason Hanna
Email: jhanna@niu.edu