CLAS Departmental Advising Contacts

Listed below are the department chairs and principal undergraduate advisors within the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Because this information changes periodically, contact the telephone number listed for the department if you are having difficulty contacting an individual. If you are unable to connect with the departmental advisor, please contact the College Advising office at 815-753-0114 or email clas_advising_office@niu.edu.

Department Chair/Director Chair/Director Phone Undergraduate Advisor Email Advisor Phone
Anthropology
SB 190
Leila Porter 815-753-0246 Kerry Sagebiel askAnthro@niu.edu 815-753-0246
Biological Sciences
MO 349
Garry Sunter 815-753-0433 Christy Cunningham ccunningham@niu.edu 815-753-0433
Paul Fix (Educator Licensure) pfix@niu.edu 815-753-6819
Chemistry and Biochemistry
FR 319
Ralph Wheeler 815-753-1181 Lee Sunderlin sunder@niu.edu 815-753-1131
Michael Eads (Educator Licensure) meads@niu.edu 815-753-6492
Communication
WH 209
Mehdi Semati 815-753-7108 CLAS Advising Office clas_advising_office@niu.edu 815-753-0114
Computer Science
PM 460
Nicholas Karonis 815-753-0349 Daniel Rogness drogness1@niu.edu 815-753-0378
Earth, Atmosphere and Environment Mark Frank 815-753-8395 Xuwei Chen/Michael Konen (Geography) chen@niu.edu
mkonen@niu.edu
815-753-0631
Allison Michaelis (Meteorology) amichaelis@niu.edu 815-753-0631
Justin Dodd (Geology and Environmental Geosciences) jdodd@niu.edu 815-753-1943
Nicole LaDue (Earth Science Education) nladue@niu.edu 815-753-7935
Economics
ZH 515
Carl Campbell 815-753-6957 Tammy Batson tbatson@niu.edu 815-753-8413
English
RH 214
Scott Balcerzak 815-753-0615 Beth McFarland-Wilson (Secondary Educator Licensure) bmcwilson@niu.edu 815-753-7570
Melissa Adams-Campbell madamscampbell@niu.edu 815-753-0612
Environmental Studies
MO 325
Thomas Skuzinski 815-753-6563 Melissa Burlingame mburlingame@niu.edu 815-753-6563
History
ZH 715
Valerie Garver 815-753-6810 Eric Hall ehall4@niu.edu 815-753-0131
John Alcalde (Educator Licensure) jalcalde1@niu.edu 815-753-5903
Frank Bell (Educator Licensure) fbell@niu.edu 815-753-6576
Mathematical Sciences
WH 320
Jeffrey Thunder 815-753-6725 Alastair Fletcher afletcher@niu.edu 815-753-0566
Renee Olson (Educator Licensure) rolsen2@niu.edu 815-753-5390
Paul Stevenson (Educator Licensure) pstevenson@niu.edu 815-753-6749
Nonprofit and NGO Studies
ZH 114
Alicia Schatteman 815-753-4410 Stephanie Kummerer skummerer@niu.edu 815-753-4410
Statistics and Actuarial Science
DU 366
Alan Polansky 815-753-6847 Carrie Helmig chelmig@niu.edu 815-753-6729
Philosophy
ZH 915
Jason Hanna 815-753-6299 Steve Daskal sdaskal@niu.edu 815-753-6410
Physics
LaTourette 202
Vishnu Zutshi 815-753-6492 Yasuo Ito yito@niu.edu 815-753-6477
Michael Eads (Educator Licensure) meads@niu.edu 815-753-6492
Political Science
ZH 415
Mitch Pickerill 815-753-7040 Stephanie Kummerer and Erin Reid  skummerer@niu.edu
ereid@niu.edu
815-753-0114
Pre-Professional Programs N/A 815-753-2573 Keyalo Gray kgray1@niu.edu N/A
Psychology
PM 400
Amanda Durik 815-753-7065 Mandy Wescott (also advises Harper University Center students)

mandy@niu.edu 815-753-0372
Public Administration Scott Robinson 815-753-0311 Denise Burchard dburchard@niu.edu 815-753-6149
Sociology
ZH 815
Mike Ezell 815-753-1194 Kristie Crane kristieb@niu.edu 815-753-0365
World Languages and Cultures
WH 111
John Bentley 815-753-1259 Jessamine Cooke-Plagwitz (All majors and minors) jpcooke@niu.edu 815-753-6448
Linda Saborio (Deaf Studies minor) lsaborio@niu.edu 815-753-9306
Kathy Kuschman (Educator Licensure) kkuschman@niu.edu 815-753-6449
Karen Lichtman (Educator Licensure) klictman@niu.edu 815-753-6443
Center for Black Studies Anne Marie Edwards 815-753-2495 Joseph Flynn jeflynn@niu.edu 815-753-7822
Center for Latino and Latin American Studies Christina Abreu 815-753-1532 Darius Jackson djackson15@niu.edu 815-753-1531
Center for Southeast Asian Studies Judy Ledgerwood 815-753-1595 Rachael Skog rskog@niu.edu 815-753-1595
Center for the Study of Women, Gender and Sexuality
RH 103
Jessica Reyman 815-753-1038 Katie Heinkamp kheinekamp@niu.edu 815-753-1038

Contact

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Advising
Zulauf Hall 201
815-753-0114
815-753-5904 (fax)
clas_advising_office@niu.edu