The General Education Committee

Committee Responsibilities

The General Education Committee is responsible for the oversight of the General Education Program and is a standing committee of the University (Bylaws Article 14.6.3). The voting members of the committee consist of a constituency of faculty members from all NIU colleges with undergraduate degree programs, and three undergraduate students. As part of its responsibilities, the committee reviews and revises the program goals as needed. In addition, the committee selects courses for the program that are consistent with the general education goals. For inclusion in the program, courses must be submitted for a comprehensive review by the committee, using the General Education Course Submission/Resubmission Form.

2014-2015 Members

Joanna Kot UCC Faculty  
Carol Thompson UCC Faculty  
Len Lundstrum, Business
Jesse Johnson, Education
Brianno Coller,  Engineering & Engineering Technology
Josephine Umoren, Health and Human Sciences
Kendall Thu, Liberal Arts & Sciences - Social Sciences
Dhiman Chakraborty, Liberal Arts & Sciences - Natural Sciences
David Gorman, Liberal Arts & Sciences – Humanities
Edward Klonoski, Jr., Visual & Performing Arts
Ben Stone, Student Representative
Unknown Student
Unknown Student

Anne Birberick,  Vice Provost
Michael Kolb, Associate Vice Provost
Christopher Parker, Associate Vice Provost for Academic Outcomes Assessment

2014-2015 meeting dates and locations.  The GEC meets 12:30-3:00

September 18, AL 203
October 16, AL 225
November 20, AL 225
January 15, AL 203
February 19, AL 225
February 26, AL 225 (Optional)
March 26, AL 225
April 16, AL 203
April 23, AL 225 (Optional)