General Education Committee
(Bylaws, Article 15.6.2)

Membership of GEC

4.6.2 General Education Committee Composition

(A) Faculty Representation

1.  Three faculty representatives from the Baccalaureate Council shall be chosen by the faculty of the Baccalaureate Council. 

2.  One faculty representative shall be appointed by the curriculum committee of each undergraduate degree-granting college except the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

3.  Three faculty representatives shall be appointed by the curriculum committee of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, including one from the humanities, one from the social sciences, and one from the other sciences.

4.  The chair shall be elected by the voting members of the General Education Committee and shall serve a one-year renewable term beginning in the fall semester.

(B) Student Representation

Student members shall be selected by the General Education Committee from:

1.  Nominees submitted by the student advisory committees (SAC) of the undergraduate degree-granting colleges. An annual fall deadline will be set to facilitate t he nomination from each college's SAC.

2.  If the SAC nomination deadline passes, without reaching the maximum representation of three students, then the General Education Committee may nominate students, from across undergraduate degree-granting colleges, to sit on the committee. If the General Education Committee nominates a student from a college, the SAC from that college can no longer select a college representative.

The total number of student members selected to sit on t he General Education Committee, from the nominees recruited directly by the committee and the nominees submitted by the SACs, shall not be greater than three students. 

(C) Administrative Representation

1.  One advisor shall be elected by and from the persons with overall responsibility for undergraduate advisement in each of the undergraduate degree-granting colleges and the Academic Advising Center. The person shall serve ex officio without a vote.

2.  The following shall serve ex officio without a vote: the vice provost responsible for undergraduate education and one designee of the provost from the Office of Institutional Effectiveness. Duties

(A) To monitor and evaluate the university general education program.

(B) To recommend policies and procedures to manage both the general education program as a whole and individual components of that program.

(C) To make suggestions to colleges and departments regarding improvements that can be made in the general education curricula.

(D) To approve the addition or removal of courses from the general education curriculum.

(E) To oversee the improvement, including the design, of the general education program and of individual components of that program.

(F) To report its work to the Baccalaureate Council.

4.6. Standing Committees of the Baccalaureate Council

4.6.1 General Faculty members appointed to a standing committee by a college curriculum committee shall serve a three-year, renewable term beginning in the fall semester. Terms of college appointees shall be staggered. Student members on the committees shall serve one-year, renewable terms beginning in the fall semester.

General Education Committee
The GEC meets generally on the third Thursday of the month during the academic year, 12:30-3 p.m.
2021-2022 meeting dates: Sep 16, Oct 21, Nov 18, Jan 20, Feb 17, Mar 24, Apr 21

BC Faculty 
Alicia Schatteman, LAS
BC Faculty 
*Rod Caughron, EDU
BC Faculty
Margee Myles, BUS
John Pendergrass
Andy Setterstrom Andy Setterstrom Andy Setterstrom
Peet Smith
Peet Smith
Engineering & Eng. Technology
Robert (Bobby) Sinko
Robert (Bobby) Sinko
Health and Human Sciences
Marcia Cooke
Marcia Cooke Marcia Cooke
Liberal Arts & Sciences - Social Sciences
Shane Sharp
Shane Sharp, SOCI Shane Sharp, SOCI
Shane Sharp, SOCI
Liberal Arts & Sciences - Natural Sciences Lee Sunderlin for Lurio Dhiman Chakraborty, PHYS Dhiman Chakraborty, PHYS Dhiman Shakraborty, PHYS
Liberal Arts & Sciences - Humanities
Christina Abreu Christina Abreu
Christina Abreu
Visual & Performing Arts
Bobby Broom Bobby Broom
Students (3)
Kristina Robinson, CHHS
Jordan Lung
Advisor per
Steve Estes
+ Vice Provost responsible for undergraduate education
Omar Ghrayeb Omar Ghrayeb
+ One designee of the provost from the Office of Institutional Effectiveness 
Ritu Subramony
Ritu Subramony

*   chair
+  ex officio, nonvoting

Contact Us

University Council
Altgeld Hall 103

Kendall Thu
President, Faculty Senate
Chair, University Council

Pat Erickson
Administrative Assistant

Steven Howell
Faculty Personnel Advisor

Linda Saborío
Faculty Advisory Council to the IBHE

Back to top