University Benefits Committee 
(NIU Bylaws, Article 8.2)

Membership of University Benefits Committee

8.2 University Benefits Committee

8.2.1 Composition The University Benefits Committee is directly responsible to the president and shall consist of:

(A) A chair, elected by and from the committee;

 Two faculty members appointed by the president upon the recommendation of the Faculty Senate;

 Two operating staff members appointed by the president upon the recommendation of the Operating Staff Council;

 Two supportive professional staff members appointed by the president upon the recommendation of the Supportive Professional Staff Council;

 One representative of the administration, appointed by the executive vice president and provost;

 Senior administrator responsible for human resource services or designee;

 One member from the retired employees, appointed by the NIU Annuitants Association;

 One member from the Faculty Senate Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Committee, as liaison;

 The manager of insurance and employee benefits and others who may be directly involved in the administration of employee benefits may assist the committee as resource personnel. The committee chair and secretary shall be elected by and from members of the committee at the first committee meeting in the fall. The term of office for faculty, operating staff, and supportive professional staff members shall be three years, staggered, beginning in the fall semester. Representatives of the administration shall serve until their successors are appointed. 

8.2.2 Duties To act as an advisory body to the president on any and all employee benefits pertaining to faculty, operating staff, and supportive professional staff. To review present benefit plans and proposals received from the University Council, the Operating Staff Council, Supportive Professional Staff Council, and the committee itself. To make recommendations to the president concerning employee benefits.

University Benefits Committee 
The UBC meets on the first Thursday of the month, 1 p.m.

Faculty (2)
Kate Cady
William Goldenberg
William Goldenberg
William Goldenberg
Chris McCord
Chris McCord Chris McCord Chris McCord
FS Faculty Rights and Responsibilities Committee representative (liaison)
Fall-Nancy Petges
Tiffany Puckett 
Operating Staff (2)
Ellen Hamrick Ellen Hamrick Ellen Hamrick
Fall-Phillip Torgerson
Spring-Jim Slagstad for Torgerson
*Jim Slagstad for Torgerson 
Supportive Professional Staff (2)
Fall-Terry Borg
*Spring-John Boswell
Eric Armstrong Eric Armstrong
Eric Armstrong
Dan Pedersen Dan Pedersen
Representative of the administration appointed by the Provost
Kevin Reynolds for McEvoy Emily Hochstatter
Emily Hochstatter
Emily Hochstatter
Senior administrator responsible for Human Resource Services or designee
Annuitants Association representative
Terry Borg Terry Borg
@Manager of Insurance and Employee Benefits
Liz Guess
Liz Guess

* chair/co-chairs
@ ex officio

Contact Us

University Council
Altgeld Hall 103

Ismael Montana
President, Faculty Senate
Chair, University Council

Pat Erickson
Administrative Assistant

Linda Saborío
Faculty Advisory Council to the IBHE

Carrie Kortegast
Faculty Personnel Advisor

Back to top