Council of Deans
(Constitution, Article 6.5; Bylaws, Article 9.1)

Membership of Council of Deans

The Council of Deans shall consist of: the executive vice president and provost, chair; the vice provosts; the deans; the dean of the University Libraries; and such additional academic personnel as the executive vice president and provost and the deans shall deem appropriate and necessary to the work of the council. The council members are directly responsible to the executive vice president and provost.

  1. To act as an advisory body to the executive vice president and provost concerning all matters relating to the administration as it affects academic matters;
  2. To serve as a liaison body between the units of the university that they represent and among constituent parts of their respective units;
  3. To initiate policy and to transfer recommendations of academic policy to the president's staff and the University Council.

Council of Deans

The Council of Deans meets on selected Wednesdays at 10:30 a.m. in Altgeld 203.

*Executive Vice President & Provost 
Beth Ingram
Vice Provost of Undergraduate Studies
Omar Ghrayeb
Vice Provost for Academic Planning and Development
Carolinda Douglass
Acting Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
Chad McEvoy
Senior Associate Vice Provost for Academic Diversity and Chief Diversity Officer
Vernese Edghill-Walden
Vice President of Research and Innovation Partnerships
Jerry Blazey
Dean, College of Business
Balaji Rajagopalan
Dean, College of Education
Laurie Elish-Piper
Dean, College of Engineering & Engineering Technology
Donald Peterson
Dean, College of Health and Human Sciences
Derryl Block
Dean, College of Law
Cassandra Hill
Dean, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Bob Brinkmann
Dean, College of Visual & Performing Arts
Paul Kassel
Dean, Graduate School
Brad Bond
Dean, University Libraries
Fred Barnhart
Associate Vice President for Student Affairs
Kelly Wesener-Michael
Vice President for International Affairs
Brad Bond 
**Chief Information Officer Matt Parks
**Interim Chief Human Resource Officer Vernese Edghill-Walden
**Business/Administrative Associate, Office of the Provost Tim Condon
**Vice President, Enrollment Management, Marketing and Communications Sol Jensen
**Associate Vice President, Office of the Provost Celeste Latham
**Executive Director, Center for Innovative Teaching and Learning Jason Rhode
**Vice President for University Advancement Catherine Squires
**Administrative Assistant, Office of the Provost Mia Hannon

   * chair

   ** guest

Contact Us

University Council
Altgeld Hall 103

Kendall Thu
President, Faculty Senate
Chair, University Council

Pat Erickson
Administrative Assistant

Steven Howell
Faculty Personnel Advisor

Linda Saborío
Faculty Advisory Council to the IBHE

Back to top