Schedule

If you have already registered for COTS 2020, you do not need to register for the panels again. All registered attendees will be pre-registered for all COTS 2020 events. Conference registration closes at 11:59 p.m. on Thursday, November 12. To register for individual panels, keynotes, or roundtables on the day of the event, please use the registration links below.

Panel 1

Religion and Society
Friday, Nov. 13, 18:00 - 19:15 (US CST)
Saturday, Nov. 14, 7:00 - 08:15 Thailand

Register for Webinar


Panel 2

Historiography, Archives, and Text-Making
Friday, Nov. 13, 19:25 - 20:40 (US CST)   
Saturday, Nov. 14, 08:25 - 09:40 Thailand

Register for Webinar

Related Pre-Recorded Presentations for Panel 2


Keynote 1

The Crown and the Capitalists: Thai Studies from a Transnational Perspective
Wasana Wongsurawat, Ph.D. (History, Chulalongkorn University)
Friday, Nov. 13, 21:00 - 22:00 (US CST)
Saturday, Nov. 14, 10:00 - 11:00 Thailand

Register for the Webinar


Panel 3

Cultural Heritage Making and Identity Formation
Friday, Nov. 13, 22:10 - 23:25 (US CST)
Saturday, Nov. 14, 11:10 - 12:25 Thailand

Register for the Webinar

Related Pre-Recorded Presentations for Panel 3


Plenary Roundtable

Daring to Imagine the Future: Youth and Democracy in Thailand
Saturday, Nov. 14, 08:00 - 09:00 (US CST)
Saturday, Nov. 14, 21:00 - 22:00 Thailand

Register for the Webinar


Panel 4

Science, Medicine, and Care
Saturday, Nov. 14, 09:10 - 09:50 (US CST)
Saturday, Nov. 14, 22:10 - 22:50 Thailand

Register for the Webinar

Related Pre-Recorded Presentations for Panel 4


Panel 5 (Roundtable)

The Collaboration between Universities and Ethnomusicology Students: Bringing Thai Music and Culture to Communities

Saturday, Nov. 14, 10:00 - 11:15 (US CST)
Saturday, Nov. 14, 23:00 – 00:15 Thailand

Register for the Webinar

Related Pre-Recorded Presentations for Panel 5


Keynote 2

De-centering Thai Studies: A View from the Northwest Borderlands
Nancy Eberhardt, Ph.D. (Anthropology, Knox College)

Saturday, Nov. 14, 18:00 - 19:00 (US CST)
Sunday, Nov. 15, 07:00 - 08:00 Thailand

Register for the Webinar


Panel 6

Re-Centering "Thai-ness" and Thai Studies: Perspectives from the "Others Within"

Saturday, Nov. 14, 19:15 - 20:30 (US CST)
Sunday, Nov. 15, 08:15 - 09:30 Thailand

Register for the Webinar

Related Pre-Recorded Presentations for Panel 6


Panel 7

Labor and Migrants

Saturday, Nov. 14, 20:45 - 22:00 (US CST)
Sunday, Nov. 15, 09:45 - 11:00 Thailand

Register for the Webinar

Related Pre-Recorded Presentations for Panel 7


Panel 8

Politics and Policies

Saturday, Nov. 14, 22:10 - 23:25 (US CST)
Sunday, Nov. 15, 11:10 - 12:25 Thailand

Register for the Webinar

Related Pre-Recorded Presentations for Panel 8


Panel 9

Silences, Histories and the Future: A book launch panel for Moments of Silence: The Unforgetting of the October 6, 1976 Massacre in Bangkok (Thongchai Winichakul, 2020)

Sunday, Nov. 15, 07:45 - 9:00 (US CST)
Sunday, Nov. 15, 20:45 - 22:00 Thailand

Register for the Webinar


Panel 10

Protests, Social Movements, and Gender

Sunday, Nov. 15, 09:10 - 10:25 (US CST)
Sunday, Nov. 15, 22:10 - 23:25 Thailand

Register for the Webinar

Related Pre-Recorded Presentations

Contact

Kanjana Thepboriruk, Ph.D., (กัญจนา เทพบริรักษ์)
Chair, NIU Thai Studies Committee
kanjana@niu.edu

Back to top