(Bylaws, Article 16.3)

Membership of Campus Security & Environmental Quality Committee

  1. The Campus Security and Environmental Quality Committee shall consist of the following members:

    The executive vice president and provost; the vice provost for student affairs; the vice president for development and university relations; and the executive vice president for business and finance, or their designees;

    The chair of the Faculty Senate-University Council Committee on Resources, Space, and Budgets; the associate vice president for operations, the Public Safety director, the Campus Parking Services manager, director of Environmental Health and Safety or designee, the landscape architect, and the director of Student Life Policy or his/her designee;

    Two faculty appointed to serve two-year staggered terms by the Faculty Senate from nominees submitted by the college councils, the Library Council and the faculty of the College of Law; two operating staff appointed to serve two-year staggered terms by the Operating Staff Council; and two Supportive Professional Staff appointed to serve two-year staggered terms by the Supportive Professional Staff Council;

    Four students appointed to one-year terms, including one resident undergraduate student, selected by the Residence Hall Council; one graduate student, selected by the Graduate Council; one Greek community student, selected by the president of the Student Association; and one commuting student, selected by the president of the Student Association;

  2. A representative of the City of DeKalb, appointed by the City Manager.

  3. Duties of the Committee

    The committee shall meet on a regular basis and shall advise the president on matters involving the security (including personal and property security) of the university community and protecting and enhancing the interior and exterior quality and security of the campus environment. Membership on the committee shall assure broad and balance representation of the university community and its geographic regions (e.g., Greek row, residence halls, parking areas, classrooms).

    The chair of the committee shall be appointed by the president from its membership.


Executive vice president and provost or designee Joseph Grush  Roger Maas  
Vice provost for Student Affairs or designee  John Jones John Jones  
Vice president for Development and University Relations or designee Carlos Granados Carlos Granados   
Executive vice president for Business and Finance or designee Cheryl Ross Cheryl Ross   
Faculty member (by FACULTY SENATE) Jay Stravers Deb Pender  Deb Pender
Faculty member (by FACULTY SENATE) David Goldblum David Goldblum  
Chair of Joint FS-UC Committee on Resources, Space, & Budgets Linda Derscheid Linda Derscheid   
Associate Vice President for Operations or designee *Debra Bryant *Debra Bryant   
Director, Public Safety Donald Grady Alan Smith   
Manager, Campus Parking Services Laura Lundelius Kristin Waddell   
Director of Environmental Health and Safety or designee Scott Mooberry Scott Mooberry   
Landscape Architect Jim Murphy Jim Murphy   
SA Student Life representative      
SPS representative Sherri Taylor Mary Crocker  Mary Crocker
SPS representative Phillip Young Phillip Young  
OS representative Stephen Skall Stephen Skall  
OS representative   Gay Campbell  Gay Campbell
Student (by RHA)      
Student (by Graduate Council)      
Commuting student (by SA) Stephanie Gay    
Greek Community representative (by SA)      
City of DeKalb representative (by City Manager) Carl Leoni Carl Leoni   
        * Chair