Membership of CITC

  1. Faculty Representation

    Each initial certification program in each college, including cross-listed programs, shall be allocated one voting member of CITC. However, the College of Education and the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences shall always have an equal number of voting members determined by the number of programs in the college with the greatest number of programs. Each college will also be permitted to appoint one student voting member.

    When a new pprogram is recognized by CITC and ISBE they shall be allocated one voting member. During the process of review and acceptance a program may have ex officio status within CITC. When a program cease to exist at the university or state level, one the program is no longer offering courses it shall lose its entitlement to voting membership.

  2. Student Representation

    There shall be one student representative for each of the colleges housing an initial teacher certification program.

    Student representatives must be admitted to and enrolled in an approved initial teacher certification program.

    Each college shall determine the methods of selection for its representative. Each college shall notify the University Coordinator of Teacher Certification of the student elected.

    Each student representative shall have one vote.

  3. Administrative Representation

    Ex officio members of the CITC shall include a representative from the Provost, Dean of each college housing an initial teacher certification program, Dean of the Graduate School, Director of Registration and Records, Coordinator of Community College Relations, the University Certification Officer, the University Coordinator of Teacher Certification, and the Alternative Certification Coordinator.

    Ex officio members shall serve without a vote.
  4. Terms of Office

    Faculty elected to the CITC shall serve until replaced by the respective academic department faculties.

    Student representatives shall serve terms of one year beginning on August 16 or as soon as appointed thereafter.

    Administration representatives shall serve as long as each person continues to hold the office upon which representation is based.


Art Doug Boughton
Biology Jon Miller
College of Education At-large Marc Van Overbeke
College of Education At-large David Walker
College of Education At-large Jennifer Schmidt
College of Education At-large Sarah Cohen
College of Education At-large Charles Howell
College of Education At-large *Jenny Parker
College of Education At-large Steve Wallace
College of Education At-large Sharon Comstock
Early Childhood Education Myoung Jung
Early Childhood - CHHS Susan Bowers
Elementary Education Paul Kelter
Elementary Education Sheldon Woods
English Larry Johannessen
Family, Consumer, and Nutrition Sciences Bette Montogomery
French (Special K-12)
Environmental Science Mark Fischer
Earth and Space Science Kathy Kitts
German (Special K-12) Jessamine Cooke-Plagwitz
Health Education Nancy LaCursia
History J. D. Bowers
Mathematics Ellen Hines
Music Mary Lynn Doherty
Physical Education (6-12) Ethel Gregory
Physical Education (K-12) Connie Fox
Physics Augden Windelborn
Social Sciences - Economics Susan Porter-Hudak
      Geography Wei Luo
      Political Science Mikel Wyckoff
      Psychology Leslie Matuszewich
      Sociology and Anthropology Kate Maley
Spanish (Special K-12) Michael Morris
Special Education - LBS 1 Sarah Johnston-Rodriguez
Special Ecuation - LBS 1 Laura Hedin
Special Educaiton - Vision Joseph Flynn
Student Rep - COE  
Student Rep - CHHS  
Student Rep - CLAS  
Student Rep - CVPA  
+ Vice Provost Earl Seaver
+ College of Education Carol Patitu
+ College of Health & Human Sciences Shirley Richmond
+ College of Liberal Arts & Sciences Sue Deoderlien
+ College of Visual & Performing Arts Richard Holly
+ Transfer Center Coordinator Missy Gillis
+ Graduate School Bradley Bond
+ Registration & Records Suzanne Warber
+ Teacher Certification Assessment Coordinator

Carrie Zack

CAPCE Representative  
* Faculty Chair
+ Ex officio, nonvoting