Membership of Responsible Conduct of Scholarship Committee (RCS)

A.    Membership

The Responsible Conduct of Scholarship Committee reports and is advisory to the Graduate Council.  Membership of the committee shall consist of the following:

The following will automatically be on the RCS

The following will be selected by the Vice President for Research and Dean of the Graduate School with the concurrence of the Graduate Council. One graduate student selected by the Graduate Student Advisory Council

One undergraduate student selected by the student members of the Honors Committee

B.    Duties
The purpose of the NIU RCS program is to provide awareness of complex ethical and related dilemmas that can occur in the scholarship process, and to suggest ways to address them.  The goal is to create a shared culture of responsible scholarship.  The program will not develop explicit rules that restrict intellectual activity.

The RCS program at NIU will make the University community aware of changing governmental and institutional laws, rules, regulations, policies, and ethical professional standards that guide scholarship, and will illustrate the normative issues that cut accross scholarly disciplines.  Awareness of ethical and responsible conduct of scholarship includes:

  1. Maintaining an awareness of professional responsibilities
  2. Creating a shared culture of responsible scholarship
  3. Identifying and responding to potential ethical problems
  4. Recognizing and understanding cross--disciplinary issues and standards
  5. Communicating to the NIU community the content of applicable internal and external policies.


*Vice President for Research & Dean of the Graduate School Rathindra Bose  Rathindra Bose    
Assistant to the Vice President for Research -- Research Compliance Lori Bross Sandra Arntz     
Chair, Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee Richard B. King Richard King     
Chair, Institutional Biosafety Committee Michael Hudspeth Michael Hudspeth     
Director, Faculty Development and Instructional Design Murali Krishnamurthi Murali Krishnamurthi     
Research Development Coordinator, Office of Sponsored Projects Gail Mitchell Gail Mitchell     
Executive Secretary, University Council Paul Stoddard Paul Stoddard     
Chair, Institutional Review Board Howard Schwartz David Henningsen     
Member, Faculty Senate Kenneth Burns Brigid Lusk Brigid Lusk  
Business Chang Liu Natalie Churyk  Natalie Churyk Natalie Churyk
Education Jeffrey B. Hecht Jeffrey B. Hecht    
Education James N. Sells James N. Sells James N. Sells  
Engineering & Engineering Technology Shin-Min Song Omar Ghrayeb  Omar Ghrayeb Omar Ghrayed
Health and Human Sciences Ngoyi Bukonda Ngoyi Bukonda    
Law  Kathleen Coles Kathleen Coles  Kathleen Coles  
Liberal Arts and Sciences David Changnon Sharon Sytsma Sharon Sytsma Sharon Sytsma
Liberal Arts and Sciences Jim Thomas Jim Thomas    
Liberal Arts and Sciences Carol Thompson Carol Thompson Carol Thompson  
Visual and Performing Arts Paula Frasz Deborah Robertson Deborah Robertson Deborah Robertson
University Libraries Leanne Vandecreek Leanne Vandecreek    
Graduate Student   Andrew Sidle    
Undergraduate Student