University Press Board

Membership of University Press Board

  1. The University Press Board consists of the Vice President for Research and Dean of the Graduate School, chair, the director of the University Press, secretary ex officio; four faculty members from the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences; six faculty, one from each other college, and one faculty member from the University Libraries. The college councils, the faculty of the College of Law, and the Library Council shall forward at least two names for positions to be filled by the Faculty Senate, which will make recommendations to the president for appointment to three-year terms.

  2. The primary function of the University Press Board is to assure standards of high quality for all University Press publications. Specifically, this includes:

    1. Making decisions concerning the establishment and maintenance of quality in journals published under University Press sponsorship;

    2. Making decisions as to the acceptability of manuscripts to be published as books or monographs.

    3. Determining the appropriateness of all other publications of the University Press.

Substantive changes in policy are subject to University Council approval.


*Vice President for Research
and Dean of the Graduate School
Rathindra Bose Rathindra Bose    
†Director, University Press Mary Lincoln Mary Lincoln    
Business Harry Wright Charles Downing Charles Downing Charles Downing
Education Karen Cole Barbara Fiehn Barbara Fiehn Barbara Fiehn
Engineering & Eng. Technology Youakim Al-Kalaani Youakim Al-Kalaani Youakim Al-Kalaani  
Health and Human Sciences Ngoyi Bukonda Lin Shi Lin Shi Lin Shi
Law Lorraine Schmall Lorraine Schmall Loraine Schmall  
Liberal Arts and Sciences **Jozef Bujarski Jeffrey Thunder Jeffrey Thunder Jeffrey Thunder
  Orayb Najjar Orayb Najjar Orayb Najjar  
  Maryline Lukacher Maryline Lukacher Maryline Lukacher  
  Ferald Bryan Ferald Bryan    
Visual and Performing Arts Brian Hart Brian Hart Brian Hart Brian Hart
University Libraries William Baker Byron Anderson Byron Anderson Byron Anderson
                                * Chair
                                † Ex officio
                                Ø Acting
                                **C. Thompson serves Spring 2004 for J. Bujarski (sabbatical leave)