A.    Membership

The Responsible Conduct of Scholarship Committee reports and is advisory to the Graduate Council.  Membership of the committee shall consist of the following:

The following will automatically be on the RCS

The following will be selected by the Vice President for Research and Dean of the Graduate School with the concurrence of the Graduate Council. One graduate student selected by the Graduate Student Advisory Council

One undergraduate student selected by the student members of the Honors Committee

B.    Duties
The purpose of the NIU RCS program is to provide awareness of complex ethical and related dilemmas that can occur in the scholarship process, and to suggest ways to address them.  The goal is to create a shared culture of responsible scholarship.  The program will not develop explicit rules that restrict intellectual activity.

The RCS program at NIU will make the University community aware of changing governmental and institutional laws, rules, regulations, policies, and ethical professional standards that guide scholarship, and will illustrate the normative issues that cut accross scholarly disciplines.  Awareness of ethical and responsible conduct of scholarship includes:

1.    Maintaining an awareness of professional responsibilities
2.    Creating a shared culture of responsible scholarship
3.    Identifying and responding to potential ethical problems
4.    Recognizing and understanding cross--disciplinary issues and standards
5.    Communicating to the NIU community the content of applicable internal and external policies.
Vice President for Research & Dean of the Graduate School Rathindra Bose
Assistant to the Vice President for Research -- Research Compliance Lori Bross
Chair, Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee Richard B. King
Chair, Institutional Biosafety Committee Michael E. S. Hudspeth
Director, Faculty Development and Instructional Design Murali Krishnamurthi
Research Development Coordinator, Office of Sponsored Projects Gail Mitchell
Executive Secretary, University Council Suzanne Willis
Chair, Institutional Review Board Howard Schwartz
Member, Faculty Senate Kenneth Burns
Business Chang Liu Chang Liu
Education Jeffrey B. Hecht Jeffrey B. Hecht Jeffrey B. Hecht
Education James N. Sells
Engineering & Engineering Technology Shin-Min Song Shin-Min Song
Health and Human Sciences Ngoyi Bukonda Ngoyi Bukonda Ngoyi Bukonda
Law Kathleen Coles
Liberal Arts and Sciences David Changnon David Changnon
Liberal Arts and Sciences Jim Thomas Jim Thomas Jim Thomas
Liberal Arts and Sciences Robert Zerwekh
Visual and Performing Arts
University Libraries Leanne Vandecreek Leanne Vandecreek Leanne Vandecreek
Graduate Student Daren Protolipac
Undergraduate Student