2012-13 Committees of the University

Grievance Committee
(Bylaws, Article 10 and Article 11.5.3)

Membership of Grievance Committee

11.5.3 Step III. If the grievance is not resolved to the grievant’s satisfaction at Step II of the formal complaint procedures (section 11.5.2), the grievant may initiate a formal grievance at the University level, by requesting a hearing by the Grievance Committee (see Section Representation on the Grievance Committee

(a) Three categories of employment are recognized in this document: faculty, operating staff, and supportive professional staff. Members of the Grievance Committee shall be drawn from the employment category(ies) to which the grievant and respondent(s) belong. For purposes of determining committee composition, a faculty member who has an administrative appointment above the level of department chair will be considered in the faculty category if his or her involvement in the grievance is due to his or her actions as a faculty member and will be considered in the supportive professional staff category if his or her involvement is due to his or her actions as an administrator.

(b) At the beginning of each academic year, each of the following three bodies shall forward the names of at least 15 members of its constituency, by a method and for duration of service specified by that body: Faculty Senate, Operating Staff Council, Supportive Professional Staff Council. Each of these three groups of at least 15 persons will serve as a panel from which a Grievance Committee can be chosen for a particular grievance. If all parties in the grievance are from the same employee classification, the Grievance Committee shall be composed of five panel members from that employee classification. If the grievant and respondent(s) are from more than one employee classification, the Grievance Committee shall be composed of two panel members from each of the classifications and one member of any of the three panels designated jointly by the Vice President of Human Resources and Compliance (VPHR) and the Executive Secretary of the University Council. Members of the committee may not include the grievant, a respondent, a person employed in the grievant’s or a respondent’s academic department or similar administrative work unit, a member of the grievant’s or respondent’s household, or a hearing witness. The grievant and the respondent(s) each have the right to request exclusion from committee membership any panelist(s) as described in Section (d). Also, any panelist can request to be excluded on the basis of a real or potential conflict of interest or personal relationship. The panel members to compose the Grievance Committee shall be selected as described in section (e) and the chair of this committee will be appointed in accordance with section (f).

(c) All formal actions of the Grievance Committee require an affirmative vote of at least a majority of the committee members.

Faculty Grievance Committee 2012-2013
Charles Cappell, Sien Deng, Charles Downing, Abhijit Gupta, Eric Jones, Melissa Lenczewski, C.T. Lin, Greg Long, Khan Mohabbat, John Novak, Donna Plonczynski, Richard Poole, Gleb Sirotken, Carl Von Ende, Debra Zahay-Blatz

Supportive Professional Staff Grievance Committee 2012-2013
Kate Little, Randi Napientek, Anne Hardy, Scott Peska, Lesley Gilbert, Phil Young, Neil Dickey, Dena Funkhouser, Jonathon Ostenburg, Debra Boughton, Ryan Harris, Ximena Burgin, Brian Walk, Rachel Xidis, Sue Hansfield, Mike Stang (alternate).

Operating Staff Grievance Committee 2012-2013
Gay Campbell, Keenon Darlinger, Brian Hart, Glenda Jones, Patricia Kee, Patricia Liberty-Baczek, Jay Monteiro, Jeanne Ratfield, Nathan Rice, Christian Riddle, Nancy Schuneman, Andy Small, Karen Smith, Karole Smith, Jacob Waddle