2010-11 Committees of the University

Athletic Board

(Bylaws, Article 16.1)

Membership of Athletic Board

  1. The Athletic Board is directly responsible to the president of the university. It shall consist of a faculty chair appointed by the president, a president's representative who shall carry an academic appointment, and the following members who, with the exception of faculty members, shall be appointed by the president from at least two nominees for each position to be filled, such nominees to be submitted to the president as indicated:

    One faculty member from the College of Law and the University Libraries to be selected by the faculty of that college and one faculty member from each of the other degree-granting colleges selected by that respective college council;

    Two students nominated by the Student Association with two colleges represented;

    One male and one female student athlete nominated and elected by the Student Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) as needed;

    One member of the Alumni Association from those nominated by the Alumni Association;

    One member of the operating staff from those nominated by the Operating Staff Council;

    One member of the supportive professional staff from nominees by the Supportive Professional Staff Council;

    One nonvoting member from the Huskie Athletics Support Fund from those nomiinated by the Huskie Athletics Support Fund.

    In addition, the faculty representative to the National Collegiate Athletic Association, the director of athletics, and the University General Counsel shall be ex officio, nonvoting members.

    With the exception of student representatives, members shall serve three-year staggered terms. Student members shall be nominated and appointed annually. All members shall be eligible for reappointment.

    Vitae outlining qualifications for and interest in serving on the board will accompany all nominations submitted to the president. In making the appointments, the president shall assure equitable representation of qualified men and women on the board.

  2. The duties of the Athletic Board shall include the following:

    1. The board shall assume responsibility for directing the policies through which intercollegiate athletics, both men's and women's programs, shall function as a university activity.
    2. The board shall assure equity between men's and women's intercollegiate athletic programs.
    3. The board and the athletic director shall assume the following responsibilities relative to the preparation and submission of budgets for the operation of the programs:
      1. The athletic director shall prepare budgets of finances needed to operate the programs; the budgets shall include intercollegiate sports with recommendations concerning amounts to be assigned to various sports, administrative, and support activities. The budgets shall be submitted in writing to the Athletic Board. Copies of the complete budgets shall go to all coaches prior to submission to the Athletic Board.
      2. The coaches of the various sports shall appear before the Athletic Board, at the request of the board or at their own request, to explain budget items before the budgets are approved by the board and submitted to the president and the president's staff. Any major changes in the budgets shall be approved by the Athletic Board.
      3. The athletic director shall submit to the Athletic Board an accounting of all funds received and expended.
    4. The board shall establish scheduling policies and parameters. The board will monitor compliance with those policies and parameters and review the impacts of scheduling on missed class time, academic performance and other outcomes.
    5. The board shall have the responsibility to review matters pertaining to awards and their costs, and issues regarding eligibility, travel, medical responsibilities, public relations, ticket sales, seating accommodations, and other items dealing with intercollegiate athletic programs.
    6. Minutes shall be kept of all board meetings.
    7. The board shall distribute minutes and reports to University Council members. Substantive changes in policy shall be submitted to the University Council for approval. Approved minutes shall be deposited in the University Archives.

Athletic Board

MEMBERSHIP 2009-2010 2010-2011 2011-2012 2012-2013
Faculty Chair *Terry Bishop  *Terry Bishop              
Presidential Appointment Ken Zehnder Ken Zehnder              
Business Tim Aurand Don Tidrick Don Tidrick  Don Tidrick
Education Connie Fox Connie Fox Connie Fox   
Engineering & Engineering Technology Earl Hansen Earl Hansen Earl Hansen     
Health and Human Sciences Hamid Bateni Hamid Bateni Hamid Bateni Hamid Bateni
Law David Gaebler David Taylor David Taylor  David Taylor 
Liberal Arts & Sciences Matthew Streb Matthew Streb Matthew Streb      
University Libraries  Leeanne Vandecreek (serving as alternate for T. J. Lusher) T. J. Lusher T. J. Lusher     
Visual & Performing Arts Paul Bauer Paul Bauer            
Student Athlete (male) Elliot Echols Adam Kiel              
Student Athlete (female) Jaclyn Curtis Megan Harry              
Alumni Association Joe Matty Joe Matty Joe Matty         
^ Huskie Athletics Scholarship Fund Steve Sliga Steve Sliga  
Operating Staff Marcia Dick Marcia Dick          
Supportive Professional Staff Todd Latham Todd Latham Todd Latham  
+ Director of Athletics Jeff Compher Jeff Compher              
+ Faculty Representative to NCAA Janet Rintala  Janet Rintala               
+ University General Counsel or designee Ken Davidson  Ken Davidson               
+ Minority Representative if needed Brian Hemphill  Brian Hemphill               
SA Students (2)  Brian Smith
Mauvolyene Adams
Elliot Echols
Joshua Venaas

* Chair
+ Ex officio, nonvoting
^ Nonvoting