Educator Preparation at NIU

Specific NIU programs leading to state Licensure are designed and delivered using an interdisciplinary model and a unique governance structure.

Four colleges collaboratively plan, provide, and govern state-approved educator Licensure programs:

  • College of Education (CoE),
  • College of Health and Human Sciences (HHS),
  • College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS), and
  • College of Visual and Performing Arts (CVPA).

The efforts of these colleges are guided by the Vice Provost and carried out through the University Committee on Initial Educator Licensure (UCIEL), the University Committee on Advanced and Non-Teaching Educator Licensure Programs (UCANELP), and the University Office of Teacher Certification.

Although each college is responsible for its own programs, the colleges work together to assure that each candidate for certification meets state and national standards; state, college and department requirements; and the requirements and expectations of the university.

The university's Conceptual Framework describes the "community of learners" that is the basis for all NIU educator preparation programs.