Annuitants Association


NIU Annuitants Association (NIUAA)

Our association is a local chapter of the State Universities Annuitants Association (SUAA), a growing organization of 15,675 members in 52 chapters.

Both NIUAA and SUAA promote the interests and the welfare of the members of the State Universities Retirement System (SURS). SURS members include present and future retirees as well as their spouses and survivors.

Keep up with the latest goings-on at NIU. Read NIU Today every day!

Supreme Court Decisions

SUAA and NIUAA won two important Supreme Court cases that protect the benefits of all employees and retirees. On July 3, 2014, the Illinois Supreme Court ruled in the case of Kanerva v. Weems that the State of Illinois could not require annuitants to pay two percent (2%) of their pensions to help cover the cost of health care premiums. On May 8, 2015, the Illinois Supreme Court ruled that the so-called Pension Reform Law (Public Act 98-0599) was unconstitutional because it reduced the benefits of current workers and retirees. For updated reports on legislation or to contribute to the Legal Fund visit the SUAA website.