Scholarships and Awards


The Department of Communication offers awards and scholarships for students in communication studies and journalism. Each degree program has a spring event where students are honored for their academic and scholarly work. Communication studies sponsors awards for Outstanding Majors and Scholars, Department Service and Creative Achievement at the O'Connell Awards Ceremony.  

The journalism program offers various awards and scholarships for academic and scholarly works including awards for PRSSA and The Northern Star. Awards are presented at the annual Journalism Banquet. Check out the available journalism scholarships and awards and how to apply.

Contact Us

Department of Communication
Watson Hall 210
DeKalb, IL 60115
815-753-7109 (Fax)

Department Chair

Mehdi Semati, Ph.D.