Voter Registration

Before you register to vote, it's important to makes sure that you are eligible to vote. To be able to vote in Illinois:

  • You must be a U.S. Citizen.
  • You must be 17 years old on or before the date of the General Primary and turn 18 on or before the date of the General or Consolidated Election.
  • You must live in your election precinct at least 30 days prior to Election Day.
  • You must not be serving a sentence of confinement in any penal institution as a result of a conviction.
  • You may not claim the right to vote anywhere else.

How to Register

You'll need the following information to complete online voter registration:

  • Your Illinois diver's license of state ID.
  • The issue date of your identification.
  • The last four digits of your Social Security number.
  • Your date of birth.

If you wish to register in another state, you can find voter registration forms for your state online at Vote.gov. You can also check your registration status in another state if your are unsure of your voter registration status.

Deputy Registrars on Campus

Need help registering to vote from someone who understands the process? The following individuals on campus have been trained as deputy registrars and can register any Illinois resident who qualifies to vote. Feel free to contact them for assistance.
Name Department Office Location Email Address
Rubi Salgado Holmes Student Center WZ 118 rsalgado3@niu.edu
Emily McKee Anthropology SB 179 ekmckee@niu.edu
Caroline Cosmel Career Services CL 220 ckosmel@niu.edu
Ann Nelson Center for Latino and Latin American Studies LC 105 amnelson@niu.edu
Jan Wylde Career Services CL 260 jwylde2@niu.deu
Kathy Zuidema Career Services CL 240L kzuidema@niu.edu
Cathy Doederlein Career Services CL 260 cdoederlein1@niu.edu
Judy Santacaterina College of Liberal Arts and Sciences ZH 201 jsantaca@niu.edu
Gay Campbell Office of the Ombudsperson HC 601 gcampbell@niu.edu
Kurt Westhoff CHANCE Program WI 120D kwesthoff1@niu.edu
Sarah Marsh Management SH 245B smarsh@niu.edu
Patricia Wallace Reasearch Compliance, Integrity and Safety LH 301 pwallace@niu.edu
James Burton Management BH 245O jburton@niu.edu
Jed McClure Management BH 245 jmcclure3@niu.edu
Sharon Nelson College of Law SP 267A slnelson@niu.edu
Michelle Pickett Academic Advising Center HS 320 mpickett@niu.edu
Ralph Wheeler Chemistry and Biochemistry FR 320 rwheeler5@niu.edu
Shane Miller Physics FW 202 smiller29@niu.edu
Janet Hathaway College of Visual and Performing Arts MB 302 jhathaway@niu.edu
Guzette Espinal-Angulo Residential Dining Services AL 100 gespinalangulo1@niu.edu
Pilar Broggi Family Violence and Sexual Assault 1635 W. Lin pbroggi@niu.edu
Christopher James Student z1836654@students.niu.edu
Debra Miller Disability Resource Center HS 411 dmiller20@niu.edu
Tristan Draper University Libraries FO 428 tdraper@niu.edu
Brian Glick Student Conduct CL 280 bglick@niu.edu
Kathy Hodgkinson Student Conduct CL 280 khodgkinson@niu.edu
Amanda Newman Disability Resource Center HS 415 anewman3@niu.edu
Natasha Johnson Recreation and Wellness RC njohnson11@niu.edu
Ariel Owens Gender and Sexuality Resource Center WR 203 aowens1@niu.edu
Sue Riebe Bursar SP 235 sriebe2@niu.edu
Leanne VandeCreek University Libraries FO 414 lvandecreek@niu.edu
Fred Barnhart University Libraries FO 428 fbarnhart@niu.edu
Christian Lash University Libraries FO clash1@niu.edu
Gary Weishaar University Libraries FO 428 gweishaar@niu.edu
Connie Storey University Honors Program CL 110 cstorey2@niu.edu
Jason Goode University Honors Program CL 110G jason@niu.edu
Edye Cowan University Honors Program CL 110C ecowan@niu.edu
Lisa King CHANCE Program WI 128 lking@niu.edu
Melissa Dawson Student Athete Academic Support Services YC 110E mdawson@niu.edu

Contact Us

If you have questions or would like to propose an event related to the ALL IN Campus Challenge, email us at All_In@niu.edu.

Back to top