Voter Registration

Before you register to vote, it's important to makes sure that you are eligible to vote. To be able to vote in Illinois:

  • You must be a U.S. Citizen.
  • You must be 17 years old on or before the date of the General Primary and turn 18 on or before the date of the General or Consolidated Election.
  • You must live in your election precinct at least 30 days prior to Election Day.
  • You must not be serving a sentence of confinement in any penal institution as a result of a conviction.
  • You may not claim the right to vote anywhere else.

How to Register

You'll need the following information to complete online voter registration:

  • Your Illinois diver's license of state ID.
  • The issue date of your identification.
  • The last four digits of your Social Security number.
  • Your date of birth.

If you wish to register in another state, you can find voter registration forms for your state online at Vote.gov. You can also check your registration status in another state if your are unsure of your voter registration status.

Deputy Registrars on Campus

Need help registering to vote from someone who understands the process? The following individuals on campus have been trained as deputy registrars and can register any Illinois resident who qualifies to vote. Feel free to contact them for assistance.

Name Department Email Address
Michelle Pickett Academic Advising Center mpickett@niu.edu
Lizbeth Roman Admissions lroman1@niu.edu
Emily McKee Anthropology ekmckee@niu.edu
Sue Riebe Bursar sriebe2@niu.edu
Cathy Doederlein Career Services cdoederlein1@niu.edu
Caroline Kosmel Career Services ckosmel@niu.edu
Jan Wylde Career Services jwylde2@niu.deu
Kathy Zuidema Career Services kzuidema@niu.edu
Lisa King CHANCE lking@niu.edu
Kurt Westhoff CHANCE kwesthoff1@niu.edu
Ralph Wheeler Chemistry and Biochemistry rwheeler5@niu.edu
Sharon Nelson College of Law slnelson@niu.edu
Judy Santacaterina College of Liberal Arts & Sciences jsantaca@niu.edu
Laura Vazquez Communication lvazquez@niu.edu
Debra Miller Disability Resource Center dmiller20@niu.edu
Amanda Newman Disability Resource Center anewman3@niu.edu
Suzanne Coffield English scoffield@niu.edu
Claire Duvall Faculty Development cduvall@niu.edu
Ariel Owens Gender and Sexuality Resource Center aowens1@niu.edu
Rubi Salgado Coronel Holmes Student Center rsalgado3@niu.edu
James Burton Management jburton@niu.edu
Sarah Marsh Management smarsh@niu.edu
Jed McClure Management jmcclure3@niu.edu
Ursula Sullivan Marketing usullivan@niu.edu
Gay Campbell Office of the Ombudsperson gcampbell@niu.edu
Patty Lee Office of Student Engagement and Experiential Learning patlee@niu.edu
Destiny McDonald Office of Student Engagement and Experiential Learning dmcdonald@niu.edu
Natasha Johnson Recreation and Wellness njohnson11@niu.edu
Patricia Wallace Research Compliance, Integrity and Safety pwallace@niu.edu
Guzette Espinal-Angulo Residential Dining Services gespinalangulo1@niu.edu
Janet Hathaway School of Music jhathaway@niu.edu
Melissa Dawson Student Athlete Academic Support Services mdawson@niu.edu
Brian Glick Student Conduct bglick@niu.edu
Kathy Hodgkinson Student Conduct khodgkinson@niu.edu
Edith Cowan University Honors ecowan@niu.edu
Jason Goode University Honors jason@niu.edu
Constance Storey University Honors cstorey2@niu.edu
Fred Barnhart University Libraries fbarnhart@niu.edu
Crystal Hill University Libraries csturgeon1@niu.edu
Michele Hunt University Libraries mhunt5@niu.edu
Joanna Kulma University Libraries jkulma@niu.edu
Tina Maxwell University Libraries tinamaxwell@niu.edu
Leanne VandeCreek University Libraries lvandecreek@niu.edu
Gary Weishaar University Libraries gweishaar@niu.edu

Contact Us

If you have questions or would like to propose an event related to the ALL IN Campus Challenge, email us at All_In@niu.edu.


If you want to host a voter registration event and would like a deputy registrar to attend, contact Sandy Lopez at slopez1@niu.edu .

Back to top